Skip to main content

MSVU logo

Find Resources
Library Services
About the Library
Archives

APA Citation Style

Books & eBooks - Generic

Book – Generic

In-Text Citation

(AuthorLastname, Year)

(AuthorLastname, Year, p. #)

Reference List

AuthorLastname, F. N. (Year). Book title. Location: Publisher.

AuthorLastname, F. N. (Year). Book title. Retrieved from http://www.xxxxx.com

AuthorLastname, F. N. (Year).Book title. doi:xxxxx

Single and Multiple Authors or Editors

Book – One or More Authors

In-Text Citation

One Author

(Gutman, 1999)

(Gutman, 1999, p. 62) (when referencing specific page)

Two Authors

(Hock, & Price, 2004)

(Hock, & Price, 2004, p. 138) (when referencing a specific page)

Three-Five Authors

(Sharp, Peters, & Howard, 2002) (first use)

(Sharp et al., 2002) (subsequent use)

(Sharp, Peters, & Howard, 2002, p.76) (first use when referencing a specific page)

(Sharp et al., 2002, p.76) (subsequent use when referencing a specific page)

Six or More Authors

(Ambrose, S. A. et al., 2010)

(Ambrose, S. A. et al., 2010, p. 26) (when referencing a specific page)

Reference List

One Author

Gutman, R. W. (1999). Mozart: A cultural biography [Adobe Digital Editions version]. doi:10.1036/0034586772

Gutman, R. W. (1999). Mozart: A cultural biography. Retrieved from http://www.ebookstore.tandf.co.uk/

Gutman, R. W. (1999). Mozart: A cultural biography  [Adobe Digital Editions version]. doi:10.1036/0034586772

Two-Five Authors

Hock, R., & Price, G. (2004). The extreme searcher’s Internet handbook: A guide for the serious searcher. Medford, NJ: CyberAge Books.

Six or More Authors

Ambrose, S. A. et al. (2010). How learning works: Seven research-based principles for smart teaching. Retrieved from http://www.eblib.com/

Book – No Author or Editor (6.15, pp. 176-177)

In-Text Citation

(NAICS Desk Reference, 2000)

(NAICS Desk Reference, 2000, p.5) (when referencing a specific page)

Reference List

NAICS desk reference: The North American industry classification system desk reference. (2000). Indianapolis, IN: JIST Works.

Book – Organizations or Groups as Authors (6.13, p. 176)

In-Text Citation

(World Bank, 2006)

(National Council of Welfare [NCW], 2001) (first use)

(NCW, 2001) (subsequent use)

(National Council of Welfare [NCW], 2001, p.3) (first use when referencing a specific page)

(NCW, 2001, p. 3) (subsequent use when referencing a specific page)

Reference List

World Bank. (2006).Information and communications for development: Global trends and policies. Retrieved from http://books.google.ca/books

National Council of Welfare (Canada). (2001).Child poverty profile, 1998. Ottawa, ON: National Council of Welfare.

Comments

  • In the example above, author and publisher are identical: 'National Council of Welfare'. In such cases you may use the word 'Author' as the name of the publisher.
  • Provide the publisher if it is different from the author.
  • The name of a group author is usually spelled out each time it appears in your text. The names of some authors are spelled out in a first citation and abbreviated thereafter. Use your judgement. The reader of your paper should be able to locate the complete citation of the work in the reference list at the end of your paper.
  • Always use the full name in the reference list.

Book – Edited (6.11, 174; 6.27, p.184)

In-Text Citation

(Robinson, 1992)

(Robinson, 1992, p. 48) (when referencing a specific page)

Reference List

Robinson, D. N. (Ed.). (1992). Social discourse and moral judgement. San Diego, CA: Academic Press.

Comments

  • One editor use (Ed.); More than one editor use (Eds.).

Editions and Multivolume Works

Book – Specific edition

In-Text Citation

(Smith, 2012)

(Smith, 2012, p. 63) (when referencing a specific page)

Reference List

Smith, P. (2012). Cut to the chase: Online video editing and the Wadsworth constant (3rd ed.). Washington, DC: E & K Publishing.

Book – Multivolume (7.02 p. 204)

In-Text Citation

(Wright, 1969)

(Wright, 1969, p.100) (when referencing a specific page)

Reference List

Entire multivolume work

Wright, S. (1968-1978). Evolution and the genetics of populations (Vols. 1-4). Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press.

Entire multivolume work with edition

Sadie, S. (Ed.). (1980). The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians (6th ed., Vols. 1-20). London: Macmillan

Specific volume with a distinct title

Wright, S. (1969). Theory of gene frequencies: Vol. 2. Evolution and the genetics of populations. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press.

Reference Work (Encyclopedia or Dictionary) – Print or Electronic (7.02, pp. 202-203)

In-Text Citation

(Sadie, 1980)

(Sadie, 1980, p.100) (when referencing a specific page)

Reference List

Sadie, S. (Ed.). (2000). The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians (2nd ed., Vols. 1-29). New York: Grove's Dictionaries.

Zalta, E. N. (Ed.). (2007). The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy. Retrieved from http://plato.stanford.edu/

Section of a Book - Chapter, Essay, Note, Dictionary Entry, etc.

Section of a Book – chapter, essay, notes, etc.

In-Text Citation

(Deuze, 2009)

(Deuze, 2009, p. 21) (when referencing a specific page)

Reference List

Book chapter (book or ebook)

Deuze, M. (2009). Journalism, citizenship, and digital culture. In P. Zizi (Ed.), Journalism and citizenship (pp. 15-28). Taylor & Francis e-Library. Retrieved from http://eblib.com

Introduction, preface, forward, afterwards

Funk, R., & Kolln, M. (1998). Introduction. In E. W. Ludlow (Ed.), Understanding English grammar (pp. 1-2). Needham, MA: Allyn and Bacon.

Entry in a multivolume edited work

Mejía-Arauz, R., Correa-Chávez, M., Ohrt, U. K., & Aceves-Azuara, I. (2015). Collaborative work or individual chores: The role of family social organization in children's learning to collaborate and develop initiative. In J. B. Benson (Series Ed.), M. Correa-Chávez, R. Mejía-Arauz and B. Rogoff (Vol. Eds.), Advances in Child development and behavior: Vol. 49. Children learn by observing and contributing to family and Community endeavors: A cultural paradigm. (pp. 25-52). Amsterdam: Academic Press.

Reprinted sources

If you are citing a source that is republished or reprinted, cite the source that you are reading in your reference list and include the original source as follows: (Reprinted from original source information). 

Piaget, J. (1988). Extracts from Piaget's theory (G. Gellerier & J. Langer, Trans.). In K. Richardson & S. Sheldon (Eds.), Cognitive development to adolescence: A reader (pp. 3-18). Hillsdale, NJ: Erlbaum. (Reprinted from Manual of child psychology, pp. 703-732, by P. H. Mussen, Ed., 1970, New York: Wiley)

In your in text citation include both dates starting with the earliest date. For example: (Piaget, 1970/1988).

 

Comments

  • For a book with no editor, include the word 'In' before the book title.
  • Where the author(s) of the entry and the book are the same include the word ‘In’ before the title.
  • Where the author(s) of the entry and the book are different same include the word ‘In’ followed by the author or editor of the book and then the title.
  • For citing an introduction, preface, forward, or afterwards, cite the book as usual, and use Introduction, Preface, Foreword, Afterword or whatever title is appropriate as per the format for citing a chapter of the book.

Entry in a Reference Work (7.02, pp. 202-203)

In-Text Citation

(Graham, 2005)

(Graham, 2005, para. 3) (when referencing a specific page)

Reference List

Autism. (1993). In Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (10th ed.). Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster.

Autism. (n.d.). In Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (10th ed.). Retrieved from http://www.m-w.com/dictionary/autism

Bergman, P.G. (1993). Relativity. In The new encyclopaedia Britannica (15th ed., Vol. 26, pp. 501-508). Chicago: Encyclopaedia Britannica.

Graham, G. (2005). Behaviorism. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.),The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Fall 2007 ed.). Retrieved from http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/behaviorism

Comments

  • If an online version refers to a print version, include the edition after the title.

Book Review

In-Text Citation

(Smith, 2002)

(Smith, 2002, p. 301) (when reference a specific page)

Reference List

Smith, A. B. (2002). Mapping the text. [Review of the book Geography of the book by M.J. Sullivan & V. Daigle]. Geography Canada, 90(1), 301.

Schatz, B. R. (2000, November 17). Learning by text or context? [Review of the book The social life of information by J.S. Brown & P. Duguid]. Science, 290. doi: 10.1126./science.290.5495.1304

Comments

  • If the review is untitled, use the material in brackets as the title; retain the brackets to indicate that the material is a description of form and content, not a title.
  • Identify the type of medium being reviewed in brackets (book, motion picture, television program, etc.).
  • If the reviewed item is a book, include the author names after the title of the book, separated by a comma.
  • If the reviewed item is a film, DVD, or other media, include the year of release after the title of the work, separated by a comma.

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.