MSVU logo

Find Resources
Library Services
About the Library
Archives

Philosophy

This guide is designed to help you find all kinds of resources pertaining to philosophy. From databases, open web resources to print sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and classic texts, this guide is a great starting point.

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an online encyclopedia of philosophy maintained by Stanford University. Each entry is written and maintained by an expert in the field, including professors from over 65 academic institutions worldwide.

Keys To Good Research

Good research is well-planned research. Here are some tips for helping you get started. 

1. Think about the type and number of resources appropriate for your project. For example, a small essay on an academic topic may require only a few journal articles. A paper on a topical news story might require some news articles as well. A large essay or project may require journal articles, books, news stories, and information found from the open web. 

2. Search effectively! When searching databases, use the advanced search window so that you can combine concepts effectively. Take a moment to ensure that you have good search terms, by checking the thesaurus or subject headings list. Make sure that you are doing the 'type' of search term you want, i.e., author, subject, keyword, etc. Don't forget to try new strategies: if your search isn't working, try new terms, new combinations of terms, and new types of searches.

3. Citation, citation, citation! It's a word we hear a lot and it can evoke fear - but don't let it! Take advantage of the MSVU Library citation resources, found on this page to your right. Make sure you know what style your professor wants, first!

4. Talk to a librarian! Our reference librarians are here to answer any questions you might have about research. Special sessions can be booked at the reference desk if you would like thorough instruction on any part of the research process.

 

 


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.