MSVU logo

Find Resources
Library Services
About the Library
Archives

Biology

A guide for research in the Biological Sciences

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia Ref. Q 121 V3 2002

American Heritage Science Dictionary  Ref. Q 123 A5178 2005

Oxford Dictionary of Biology  5th ed. Ref. QH 302.5 D54 2004

Encyclopedia of Bioethics 3rd ed.  Ref. QH 332 E52 2004

Encyclopedia of Evolution  Ref. QH 360.2 E42 2002

Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory Ref. GN 281 E53 2000

Dictionary of Genetics  7th ed.  Ref. QH 427 K55 2006

Oxford Dictionary of Ecology  Ref. QH 540.4 C66 2005

Plant Identification Terminology: An Illustrated Glossary  Ref. QK 9 H37 1994

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia  Ref. QL 3 G7813 1974

Oxford Dictionary of Zoology Ref. QL 9 C66 2003

Oxford Companion to Animal Behaviour  Ref. QL 751 O8 1981

Encyclopedia of Human Biology  Ref. QP 11 E53 1991

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology  Ref. QP 512 D94 2006

Handbooks and Manuals

Biology Data Book 2nd ed.  Ref. QH 310 A392 1972

North American Trees 5th ed.  Ref. QK 110 P74 2002

Photographic Atlas for the Zoology Laboratory  Ref. QL 812.5 V36 2002

Atlas of Descriptive Embryology 6th ed. Ref. QL 956 M38 2003

 

Biography

Notable Women in the Life Sciences: A Biographical Dictionary  Ref. QH 26 N68 1996

Women in the Biological Sciences: A Biobibliographic Sourcebook  Ref. QH 26 W66 1997


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.