This provides a much-needed critical introduction to the major historians and philosophers together with the central issues, ideas, and theories, which have prompted the rethinking of history that has gathered pace since the 1990s. With twenty-nine new entries, and many that have been substantially updated, key concepts for the new history are examined through the ideas of leading thinkers such as Kant, Nietzsche, Croce, Collingwood, White, Foucault, and Derrida, and through subjects ranging over class, empiricism, hermeneutics, inference, relativism, and technology. The new entries for the second edition include: Carl Becker; Frank R. Ankersmit; Jean-Francois Lyotard; gender'; justified belief; the aesthetic turn; race; film; biography; cultural history; and critical theory and experimental history. With a revised introduction setting out the state of the discipline of history today, as well as an extended and updated bibliography, this is the essential reference work for all students of history.
This is an outstanding compendium of facts and figures on World History. Fully up-to-date, reliable and clear, this volume is the indispensable source of information on a thorough range of topics such as: a chronology of events of the Arab-Israeli conflict, anti-semitism and the Holocaust, all the world's major famines and natural disasters since 1914, whether all countries of the world have a king, president, prime minister or other governance, GNP of the world's major states, year by year, biographies of key figures, civil rights movements, the Vietnam War, the rise of terrorism, and globalization. Thematically presented, the book covers topics relevant to history, politics and international relations, from the First World War to the Iraq War of 2003, from post-colonial Africa to conflicts and movements in South-East Asia. With maps, chronologies and full bibliography, this user-friendly reference work is the essential companion for students of history, politics and international relations, and for all those with an interest in world history.
Full-text versions of graduate theses produced at MSVU since 2006. Includes theses from Education, Family Studies & Gerontology, Applied Human Nutrition, Women and Gender studies, Child and Youth Study, and Public Relations.
The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations. For students and researchers, the Union Catalog makes individual collections of NDLTD member institutions and consortia appear as one seamless digital library of ETDs.
The aim of the Electronic Theses Online Service (EThOS) is to maximise the availability and visibility of UK doctoral theses via a single web interface. It does this by providing both high quality metadata and, where possible, access to the full text either by downloading a PDF directly from EThOS or by following a link to the institutional repository.
Many of our subject databases (including ERIC, PsycInfo, Ageline, MLA, SocIndex, Historical Abstracts/America: History & Life, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, Gender Studies) provide indexing of select dissertations.
Check the home institution for an online repository/archive. More and more theses and dissertations are being made available in open access format.
You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.