MSVU logo

Find Resources
Library Services
About the Library
Archives

Archives

Archival research guide

What can be Found in the MSVU Archives

The Mount Saint Vincent University Archives appraises, acquires, arranges and describes, preserves, and provides access to the records of its sponsoring body, Mount Saint Vincent University, as well as its predecessor and affiliated bodies or persons.

 

Records found in the Archives include:

 

  • Minutes of the Board of Governors, Senate, Senate Standing Committees, and Non-Senate Committees
  • Presidents' annual reports
  • University calendars and timetables
  • Convocation programs
  • Non-current office records
  • Records of student, staff, and faculty associations
  • External sources of information regarding MSVU
  • Student newspapers
  • Campus newsletters
  • Alumnae newsletters
  • Promotional brochures/pamphlets
  • Yearbooks
  • Graduate and honours theses by Mount students
  • Faculty and staff publications
  • Personal papers of faculty and staff
  • Scrapbooks
  • Programs from events
  • Photographs
  • Audio-visual material
  • Architectural plans and campus maps
  • Artifacts

How to Search the MSVU Archives Collections

Below is a list of holdings which are available for public searching. The MSVU Archives maintains a master list of all archival holdings, however at present it can only be searched by Archvies staff. If you are having trouble finding the material you need, please contact the Archives.

  • MSVU masters and honours theses can be found using the Novanet Catalogue.
  • MSVU year books from 1873-1981 are available on microfiche at the Library's Reference Desk.
  • MSVU academic calendars from 1947 to present are available from the Library's Circulation Desk.
  • MSVU convocation programs from 1960 to present are available from the Library's Circulation Desk.
  • Some of MSVU's archival collections can be found on ArchWay, Nova Scotia's archival database maintained by the Council of Nova Scotia Archives.

 


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.