MSVU logo

Find Resources
Library Services
About the Library
Archives

Children's Literature

Resources of interest to students researching themes, genres and authors of books written for children.

Fairy Tales

Ref. GR 549 B74 1976b An Encyclopedia of Fairies, Hobgoblins, Brownies, Bogies, and Other Supernatural Creatures

Ref. PN 3437 O94 2000  Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales

Ref. Z 5983 F17 E2 1926  Index to Fairy Tales (with 6 Supplements) 1926-1992

 

Fantasy

Ref. PN 3435 E53 1997   Encyclopedia of Fantasy

 Ref. PN 3435 S715 1996   St. James Guide to Fantasy

 Ref. PN 3435 S96 2003  Supernatural Fiction Writers: Contemporary Fantasy and Horror (2 volumes)

 Ref. PR 830 F3 R4 1984  Reference Guide to Modern Fantasy for Children

 Ref. Z 5917 F3 F36  1990  Fantasy Literature : Reader's Guide

 Ref. Z 5917 F3 H47 1999 Fluent in Fantasy : A Guide to Reading Interests

Ref. GR 650 M36 2000  A Dictionary of Imaginary Places

 Ref. PR 6039 O32 Z664 2007   J.R.R. Tolkien Encyclopedia: Scholarship and Critical Assessment 

Folklore and Fables

Ref. GR 35 F63 1997  Folklore : An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music and Art

 

Ref. GR 141 S55 2000  A Dictionary of English Folklore

 

Ref. Z 5983 L6 S5  1981  Folk Literature and Children : An Annotated Bibliography of Secondary Materials

 

Ref. PN 980 S66 1998  Encyclopedia of Fable

 

Ref. Z 5896 C37 1985   Fable Scholarship : An Annotated Bibliography

 

Ref. PN 41 E48 1998  Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature

 

Ref. PN 682 C5 V3513 1998  Dictionary of Medieval Heroes

 

Ref. GR 35 M43 2000   Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths Legends Tales Beliefs and Customs

Mythology

 Ref. BL 715 B44 1982 Dictionary of Classical Mythology

 Ref. GR 35 J6  Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore, and Symbols ( 3 volumes)

 Ref. PN 669 B78 1998  Classical Myths and Legends in the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Ref. GR 825 M87 1987 Mythical and Fabulous Creatures : A Source Book and Research Guide

 Ref. GR 705 S344 2001  The Mythical Zoo : An Encyclopedia of Animals In World Myth, Legend and Literature

Ref. BL 860 L56 2001  Handbook of Norse Mythology

 Ref. BL 473.5 A66 1993  Goddesses in World Mythology

 Ref. BL 715 G68  Who's Who in World Mythology

Ref. GR 498 A52  Nectar and Ambrosia: An Encyclopedia of Food in World Mythology

Picture Books and Illustrators

The Art of Children's Picture Books: A Selective Reference Guide   Ref. Z 1037.1 M37 1988

The Storymakers: Illustrating Children's Books. 72 Authors and Illustrators Talk About Their Work Ref. NC 975.6 S76 1999

Illustrators of Children's Books 1744 to 1976 (4 volumes)  Ref. NC 965 I44 to Ref. NC 965 V5

100 Most Popular Picture Book Authors and Illustrators: Biographies, Sketches and Bibliographies  Ref. PS 490 M395 2000

UXL Graphic Novelists  Ref. NC 1305 P46 2007

Young Adult

Ref. PS 490 S7 1999  St James Guide to Young Adult Writers

Ref. PS 153 N5 K88  1996  Young Adult Fiction by African American Writers 1968-1993 : A Critical Annotated Guide

 Ref. PN 1008.3 C67 Continuum Encyclopedia of Young Adult Literature

Nursery Rhymes

Ref. PN 6110 C4 O6 1997  Oxford Dictionary of Nursery Rhymes


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.