MSVU logo

Find Resources
Library Services
About the Library
Archives

RefWorks: guides, instructions, tutorials

Write N Cite 4

Write-N-Cite is a plugin for Microsoft Word (PC or Mac) that does exactly what it says: it lets you cite within your paper as you write it!

Write-N-Cite is less compatible with open products. If using Google Docs, OpenOffice, LibreOffice or Rich Text you can use One Line / Cite View

Google Docs instructions from UNC.

Downloading Write N' Cite

Download Write-N-Cite 4 by logging into your RefWorks account online and navigating to Tools > Write-N-Cite.

WNC4 is available for both Windows (Microsoft Word 2013, 2010, and 2007) and Mac (Microsoft Word 2011 and 2008). If you're using Windows, you will have to choose the correct installer for 32bit Office or 64bit Office. For helping choosing the appropriate version, select the help symbol next to any version. 

 

Note:  Do not install Write-n-Cite with Microsoft Word running. If you have an earlier version of Write-N-Cite, uninstall it before continuing.  

Get Started with Write-N-Cite or ProQuest for Word in 4 Easy Steps

Getting Started With Write-N-Cite 4 or ProQuest for Word in 4 Easy Steps

Note:  This article covers using both Write-N-Cite 4 or ProQuest for Word.  Both tools work exactly the same once you have logged in. We will refer to both versions as "Write-N-Cite" throughout this article.

You can get started with Write-N-Cite easily and view the formatting of your in-text citations, footnotes and bibliography – all while you are writing your paper.

To get started:

  • Click “RefWorks” or "ProQuest" (depending on the version you are using) in your MS Word ribbon to launch Write-N-Cite
  • Insert in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography
  • Save your paper

Step 1. Launch Write-N-Cite

Note:  The first time you launch Write-N-Cite for Windows, you will must be connected to the internet in order to log in to RefWorks and sync your RefWorks database with Write-N-Cite.

Tip:  In most cases, there is no need to log out of Write-N-Cite when you are not using it.   If you are using Write-N-Cite for Windows on a public computer without a personal login, you should log out of Write-N-Cite when you complete your work.  If someone does gain access to a system with your RefWorks account logged in to Write-N-Cite, they will not be able to change anything in your account since Write-N-Cite doesn’t have any features to edit your database.

Logging In To Write-N-Cite:

Write-N-Cite 4 looks a little different than earlier versions of Write-N-Cite. On Word for Mac, it's a small, floating toolbar. On Word for Windows, it's a ribbon.

Write-N-Cite 4 toolbar for Mac

If the Mac Write-N-Cite toolbar does not appear automatically you many need to activate it in View >> Toolbars on the Mac menu.


 Write-N-Cite 4 ribbon for Windows 


  • You can easily edit citations as you insert them to hide or add information as you need.

 

 

 

 

1. Click RefWorks from the Microsoft Word ribbon. ProQuest for Word users will see ProQuest
listed instead of RefWorks.  

 


 

 

2. In the Settings area, click Log In.

 

 

 

3. ProQuest for Word users -- click "RefWorks" and then enter your RefWorks log-in credentials.  You'll see the tab in Word change from ProQuest to RefWorks.

If you do not know your group code, you can obtain a Login Code by navigating in RefWorks to the Tools, Write-N-Cite page.  A unique code is displayed for you and is valid for four hours.  This Login Code replaces the need for your username and password.

Note:  You do not need to obtain a new login code every time you use Write-N-Cite.  You only need a new login code if you have logged out of Write-N-Cite.

The first time you log in to Write-N-Cite, it will automatically “sync” with your RefWorks account.  This may take a few seconds. It is downloading your references, folders and preferred output styles.  Any time you make changes to your RefWorks references you can click Sync my Database in the Extras area and your new and edited references will be included in your account.   

 

During this period, you can still access all of Word’s functionality, but the Write-N-Cite functions will not become active until syncing has finished.

 

Step 2.  Selecting Your Output Style

 

The first thing you will want to do is select an output style for your document.  Any in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography will be displayed in your document while you write your paper – in the output style you have selected.  You can always change the style later if you need to.

 

1. Click the Style drop down.  You will see a list of RefWorks’ popular styles.

 

2. Click on the style name or click Select Other Style at the bottom of the list to see your personal “favorites” or any output styles recommended by your organization (group favorites).

 

3. You can change your output style and the formatting of your paper at any time by clicking on Style and selecting a new output style.

 

 

 

Note:  if the output style you need for your paper is NOT in listed in the popular styles, favorites or group favorites, you will need to log in to your RefWorks account and add it using the Output Style Manager.  Once you add the style, you may need to sync Write-N-Cite to download the new style.  Click Sync My Database in the Extras area of Write-N-Cite to download the newly added style.

 

Step 3.  Write Your Paper and Inserting Citations or Footnotes and Your Bibliography

 

Note:  You may want to sync your RefWorks database with Write-N-Cite if you have recently added references you want to use in your paper.  Click the Sync my database icon to download new or updated references and output styles.

 

When you are ready to insert an in-text citation or footnote into your paper:

 

1.  Click the Insert Citation and Insert New option to launch the insert/edit citation box.  If you have previously used Write-N-Cite, you may see some recently selected citations listed above the Insert New option.   You can select citations displayed from this list or access all your references from the Insert New option.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Once the Insert/Edit Citation box displays, you can access references by folder search for a specific reference.  The search box will search every field of every reference.  You can use “AND” and “OR” when using the search box.     

 

 

Tip: Use the horizontal scroll bar to see the full title of a reference.  Right-clicking on the reference and choosing the item from the context menu will display the complete record (file attachments are not displayed).

Full Reference View:

 

 

 

3.  Click on the reference you wish to insert into your paper.  You will see a preview of the formatted citation in your current Output Style.

 

 

 

4. Click OK to insert your formatted citation into your paper.

Tip:  To add a second references in a single citation, click the + button in the Compose Citation area and then select the reference from your list.  

5. To insert a footnote instead of an in-text citation, click the Make Footnote checkbox in the Edit Reference area.  Once you make a footnote and finish editing the citation, you will not be able to undo this action.  However, you can always add a new in-text citation.

 

 

 

6. You can insert your bibliography anywhere in your paper while you are writing.  Click Bibliography Options, Insert Bibliography.  Note:  the bibliography will be inserted wherever the cursor is in your paper.  You can click Remove Bibliography and re-insert if it you need to change the location.

 


 


Step 4. Save your formatted paper (you should really save it periodically while you are writing!).  

 

Using Write N Cite

Write-N-Cite will automatically insert the appropriate fields for your chosen style, but you can override these settings by editing a reference:

  • Hide the year or author if you've already mentioned them in-text
  • Suppress the page numbers, or alter them from the original citation
  • Include a citation as a footnote, or keep it out of the text all together but include it in your bibliography
  • Add additional information:

        

  • Fields will be greyed out when not applicable to your chosen style.
  • All changes will appear right away in the Preview Citation window. 

 

 

If your chosen style has a rule about which order citations should appear in, they will be placed in that order. If you need to change the order, tick "Override default ordering" at the bottom. You can then use the arrows to re-order your citations. 

Inserting page numbers

Page numbers should be inserted using the Suffix box in the Insert/Edit Citation window:


If you've already created the citation, you can access the Insert/Edit Citation window by double-clicking on the in-text citation (on Windows) or by clicking the Edit Citation icon on the toolbar (on a Mac).

 

WnC Help Videos

Installing Write N Cite


 

Write N Cite Basics


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.