MSVU logo

Find Resources
Library Services
About the Library
Archives

Arts-Informed Research

Citation Guides

MSVU Library's citation guides:

These examples are brief summaries of what you will find in the full citation manuals (available at the Library Reference Desk.) If you have questions about citation please consult with a librarian or your professor. Librarians may refer you to your professor.

Confirm with your professor which style you should be using.

RefWorks

RefWorks permits you to create a personal database and to manage all your research.  RefWorks allows you to import references from MSVU online article databases, and to enter the selected records into your RefWorks database.  When writing papers, you are able to choose from the various citation styles, and RefWorks will automatically format a bibliography based on the references in your database.

Zotero

Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a Firefox addon that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, lives in your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.

It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.

Zotero will run on any operating system. It requires Mozilla Firefox 3.6 or greater. Installation only takes a few seconds to install.

If you have any problems, check the Zotero installation page.

See also this great guide published by the Zotero developers themselves. Also available as a PDF.


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.