MSVU logo

Find Resources
Library Services
About the Library
Archives

Copyright and Fair Dealing

Can I show videos/DVDs in the classroom?

Yes,  you are able to show videos in the classroom:

  • all DVDs and streaming videos from the Mount Library collection 
  • DVDs borrowed from public libraries or video stores
  • DVDs that have been privately purchased (i.e they can be from your private collection as long as they are legal copies)

 All videos/DVDs must be legal copies (cannot be taped/copied off television or copied from borrowed or rented videos).

You cannot copy a work (e.g. burn a copy or convert to streaming without permission from the copyright owner).

Can I show videos from an online site in a class, or post their links in Moodle?

You can show any of the Mount Library owned streamed videos or streamed videos from the Films On Demand, National Film Board and Criterion on Demand collections, as well as streamed video from a number of free sites, in the classroom. View our Finding Videos guide for more information on the Mount's video collections.

Streaming video cannot be downloaded and made into a hard copy of any kind.

Please Note:
Personal "on demand" subscriptions (iTunes, Bell, Rogers, Netflix, etc.) cannot be screened in class due to licensing restrictions.  The terms of the agreement between the subscriber and the subscription service govern whether movies from subscription services can be shown in the classroom.  If the agreement states that use is limited to 'personal' or 'household' use then classroom use is not permitted.

Before using an online video in your class it is prudent to ask the following questions:

  • Are there any explicit warnings or limits stated?
  • Was the video posted online by the copyright owner?
    For example, you cannot show a PBS documentary, posted on YouTube by someone called EnthusiasticFan000345.
  • Does the site’s Terms of Use allow you to stream their videos for educational use?
    For example, the CBC Doc Zone streaming site Terms of Use states, "You may not use content on CBC/Radio-Canada digital services for institutional, educational or non-profit purposes without a prior written licence. A licence will set out authorized uses, term and territory among other relevant conditions."
  • Does the video contain uncredited, copyrighted information from another source (for example, music, pictures, or charts)?
  • Is the video allowed to be shown in Canada? (there will be a message if it is not).

Can I show a video via a Blackboard Collaborate session for a Mount distance course?

Paste the URL to the online movie/video to your Blackboard Collaborate chat. Your students can access the film outside of Blackboard Collaborate.  If you are using a Mount Library licensed film please check that the URL contains the library proxy (ezproxy.msvu.ca) or that it is one of the licensed films available via the Mount vimeo collection in Moodle.

Do not use the Blackboard Collaborate application sharing tool to show movies.:

  • The Blackboard Collaborate application sharing was never intended for movies. There will be lags, delays and slowness, leading to a terrible viewing experience.
  • Blackboard Collaborate class sessions are set to automatically record for repeated viewing. This type of recording is a violation of the video's copyright.

We do not recommend the Web Tour tool for the Mount's licensed streaming videos. Our tests have indicated discrepancies with how it displays the movies in different browsers and browser versions. 

Public Performances at MSVU

MSVU has public performance rights licences through 2 providers:

 

 

Both have searchable catalogues and any film found in them can be shown all or in part on campus.

Audiences must not be charged admission.

The terms of the licences require monthly reporting of use by Mount faculty or other members of the Mount community. Any performance on campus (during class or at an event) must be reported to Rodney Tucker, Coordinator of Resources and Acquisitions Mount Library (457-6410).

Also check the Library Catalogue for videos owned by MSVU as they often have performance rights purchased at the time of their acquisition by the Library.

If you would like to show any video on campus that is not in any of these places, please contact Rodney Tucker in the Library for more help and information.

Non-commercial user generated content exceptions in the copyright law a.k.a the mashup exception or YouTube exception

Non-commercial user generated content exceptions in the copyright law  a.k.a the mashup exception or YouTube exception

The Copyright Modernization Act Section 29.21, allows individual to use existing works in the creation of a new work, under certain conditions.
 
  • Must be solely for non-commercial purposes.
  • You must cite all sources used.
  • Do not use material acquired through a contract or license that prevents using the item in a mashup (e.g. iTunes, iStock Photo).
  • Do not break a digital lock to use the material (e.g. you can’t rip a DVD that has encoding that prevents copying)
  • It must be original! The mashup cannot be substitute for, or does not have a substantial adverse effect, financial or otherwise, on existing works.

Seneca Libraries (2014 June, 16). Copyright in "Mashups" [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vuwsCPfd4dk

​An Example of a mashup:

Justin Trudeau Singing Work by Rihanna

CBC Music (2016 March, 9). Justin Trudeau Singing Work by Rihanna [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yFTA0qHcswk

Questions?

Finding videos, documentries, movies, etc.

Create Image
Please check our Finding Videos guide for some helpful sources for finding a wide variety of images for presentations and papers. 

Remember to check your rights permissions at all times. Images must be properly cited, like any other source.

 

 

 

Photo credit: Sedykh, I. (2010, March 29). Movie clapper [image]. Retrieved from https://flic.kr/p/e6rFrX 


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.