Skip to main content

MSVU logo

Find Resources
Library Services
About the Library
Archives

Zotero: guides, instructions, tutorials

Check for Full Text from Zotero

You've probably seen the Check for Full Text  or Check Full Text @ MSVU links in some databases and sites that allow you to locate the full text of an article online. Zotero allows you to use the same feature.

To set up Zotero to access the Mount Library's journal subscriptions, click the gear button on the Zotero toolbar and choose Preferences. In the Preferences box select Advanced.  At the bottom of the Advanced preferences window under the heading OpenURL, paste this URL into the "Resolver" box:

http://sfxna12.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/01nova_msvu 

Then click OK.

Once you've set this up, you can click the Locate button on any citation you're viewing to search for the item online

Image demonstrating the inclusion of the resolver address http://sfxna12.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/01nova_msvu in the OpenURL box

Other browsers

If you're using Internet Explorer or a mobile browser, you can still save items to your Zotero library. A free Zotero account is required.

The Zotero Bookmarklet works with all desktop browsers and most mobile browsers (including Safari for iPad and the Android browser).

Visit the Zotero Bookmarklet page for installation instructions for your particular browser or device. You won't have to install any software -- just the bookmarklet!

Adding items by ISBN

Have the book in front of you and want to add it to your Zotero library without having to search for a citation?

If you have a book's ISBN, an online article's DOI or PMID number, just click the magic wand button: "Add item by identifier." Type in the book or article's number, and Zotero will automatically download its information and save it to your library.

Zotero + Refworks

It's easy to use RefWorks and Zotero together and take advantage of the best features of each, or to share Zotero libraries with colleagues using RefWorks or vice versa. Both programs can read and write a standard citation file format called RIS, which means references can be converted back and forth with a few clicks.

PDFs and other attachments do not export between programs, however; only citation information. Folders/Collections infromation also does not export between programs.

Zotero to RefWorks

To save your Zotero library for importing into RefWorks, click the Zotero button that looks like a gear and choose "Export Library." Choose RIS as the file type and pick a filename.

In RefWorks, click "File" and then "Import." Click the "Choose File" button and select the file you just exported from Zotero. Set Import Option to "Reference Manager (RIS)" and click Import.

RefWorks to Zotero

To export your RefWorks library for use in Zotero, hover over  "References" and then select "Export." Choose the folder(s) you wish to export. Set the output style to "Bibliographic Software (EndNote, Reference Manager, ProCite)" and save it as a text file. You can change the file name if you wish.

In Zotero, click the button that looks like a gear and choose "Import." Just double-click the file you exported from RefWorks. The new references will be added to your library.

Indexing PDFs

It's easy to add PDFs to your Zotero library and automatically import their citation info.

First, enable PDF indexing on the Search tab of Zotero's preferences.  Zotero will download and install a small plugin.

Next, just drag your PDF files into the Zotero pane.

Right-click the PDFs and choose "Retrieve Metadata for PDFs."  Zotero will retrieve their citation data from Google Scholar and turn them into citeable items with PDF attachments.

If Zotero can't find a match on Google Scholar, don't worry -- you can still save the citation from another catalog or article database, then drag the PDF onto the citation to make it an attachment.


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.