How to identify scholarly research articlesHow to locate a journalHow to use the databases
This is the "Articles & Journals" page of the "Canadian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Canadian Studies  

Library guide for Canadian Studies
Last Updated: Dec 6, 2011 URL: http://libguides.msvu.ca/canada Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Articles & Journals Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Canadian Studies Articles Quick search

 

Where's the full text?

If you are unsure whether an article is available in full text or not, please click on the 'Check for full text...' link closest to the citation to check if the full text is available at MSVU. The 'Check for full text...' link will check to see if the article is available in another database, or to see if the library has a copy of the article in print. If the article is not available at MSVU please look at our document delivery options.

Current Events

  • Bourque Newswatch  
    Rating
    Popular news portal that highlights the important headlines of the day. This web site also includes a directory with links to most major Canadian newspapers and several international ones as well.
  • CBC.ca  
    Rating
    The web site for the CBC is updated very frequently. Keep up with the latest news, sports and weather and access schedule information for all television, radio and regional programming.
  • Newspapers in Academic Search Premier  
    Rating
    Newspapers from the United States, primarily 'USA Today' and 'Christian Science Monitor'
  • Newspapers: Full-Text (Eureka.cc)  
    Rating
    Full-text of over 1,500 of the World's newspapers and other news sources. (Includes 6 Nova Scotia newspapers).

Canadian databases

  • Acadiensis: Journal of the History of the Atlantic Region  
    Rating
    The leading journal for students and researchers in the field of Maritimes history. This site allows you can to enter search terms for articles on your topic in Acadiensis.
  • Academic Search Premier  
    Rating
    8000 journals indexed/abstracted (4600 full-text) in various disciplines
  • Canadian Newsstand Atlantic  
    Rating
    29 full text newspapers from the Atlantic region.
  • Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies  
    Rating
    Includes 21 national and leading regional newspapers such as The Globe and Mail, National Post, St. John's Telegram, Halifax Daily News, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Toronto Star, Regina Leader Post, Edmonton Journal, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times Colonist.
  • CBCA Complete  
    Rating
    With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,680 titles, CBCA Complete is ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada. Includes nearly 600 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian). Updated daily with full-text content (1985 to present) and bibliographic content (1971 to present).
  • Research Library  
    Rating
    4000 journals indexed/abstracted (2800 full-text) in various disciplines.
  • America: History & Life  
    Rating
    EXCELLENT RESOURCE FOR CANADIAN HISTORY TOPICS
    2000 Canadian/US history journals indexed/abstracted (links to full-text)
  • Digital Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)  
    Rating
    Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 full text documents are available in PDF formats.
  • Archives Canada  
    Rating
    Links to virtual exhibits and photo databases residing on the web sites of individual archives or Provincial/Territorial Councils.
  • PAIS International- Public Affairs Information Service  
    Rating
    Government documents, books and 951 journals indexed/abstracted in the fields of politics, economics and social & public policy issues with some full-text links.
  • SocINDEX (EBSCO)  
    Rating
    Five hundred "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,390 "selective" coverage journals; links to full-text in Academic Search Premier

Librarian

Profile Image
Meg Raven, Coordinator of Reference and Instructional Services
Contact Info
MSVU Library
(902) 457-6403
meg.raven@msvu.ca
Send Email
 

This page is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may reproduce any part of it for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip