Child & Youth Study articles Quick search
Comments (0)
Newspapers Online
- Canadian Newsstand Major DailiesIncludes 21 national and leading regional newspapers such as The Globe and Mail, National Post, St. John's Telegram, Halifax Daily News, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Toronto Star, Regina Leader Post, Edmonton Journal, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times Colonist.
- Canadian Newsstand Atlantic29 full text newspapers from the Atlantic region.
- Newspapers: Full-Text (Eureka.cc)Includes many of Canada's small daily or weekly newspapers, including the Amherst Daily News, the Cape Breton Post, Truro Daily News. Some international news content as well.
- Canada's Heritage: The Globe & Mail from 1844 Full-text newspaper archive of The Globe from June 1844 to The Globe and Mail until 2009.
- CBCA CompleteWith over 4.5 million records and more than 1,680 titles, CBCA Complete is ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and education as produced in Canada. Includes 640 full-text periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian). Updated daily with full-text content (1985 to present) and bibliographic content (1971 to present).
- Bridgewater Bulletin & Lunenburg Progress EnterpriseOpen access to two south shore newspapers.
- New York Times Archive: 1851-1980Articles published from Sept. 1851 to Dec. 1980.
NOTE: free access is only available for articles in the Public Domain (1851-1922). - Newspapers in Academic Search PremierNewspapers from the United States, primarily 'USA Today' and 'Christian Science Monitor'
- Internet Public LibraryLinks to international newspapers provided by the Internet Public Library
Citation Indexes
Citation indexes allow you to find articles which have cited other works. You can think of it as a reference list in reverse.
- Web of Science A multidisciplinary index with the capability of searching an article's cited references to locate related research. Links are available to selected full-text articles.
- Web of Science Tutorial GuideFor further assistance using Web of Science please read our brief Guide.
- Google Scholar The “Cited by” feature allows you to see details of later articles that have cited the article whose citation appear in the results list of a search
Where's the full text?
If you are unsure whether an article is available in full text or not, please click on the 'Check for full text . . .' link closest to the citation to check if the full text is available at MSVU. The 'Check for full text . . .' link will check to see if the article is available in another
database, or to see if the library has a copy of the article in print. If the article is not available at MSVU please look at our document delivery options.
Frequently used article databases
- Child Development & Adolescent StudiesHundreds of journals indexed/abstracted related to the growth and development of children, links to full-text in ASP
- PsycINFO2000 international psychology journals, books, chapters, dissertations indexed/abstracted, links to full-text in ASP & PsychArticles.
- Academic Search Premier8000 journals indexed/abstracted (4600 full-text) in various disciplines
- Research Library (Proquest)Over 5,000 journals indexed/abstracted (3,600 are full-text) in multi- disciplines.
- PsycArticlesFull text from 53 APA, CPA and associated journals with most coverage beginning in 1985. As well as available in this stand-alone database, full text is also linked from PsycINFO
- ERIC ERIC includes journal articles [EJ] as well as books, reports, and other documents [ED]. If an ERIC report is not available online, please check with a librarian. It may be available in microfiche at the Library if the date is prior to 2004.
- CBCA CompleteWith over 4.5 million records and more than 1,680 titles, CBCA Complete is ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and education as produced in Canada. Includes 640 full-text periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian). Updated daily with full-text content (1985 to present) and bibliographic content (1971 to present).
Featured Resource
Digital Dissertations & Theses [Proquest]
Dissertations & theses are excellent sources for literature reviews and bibliographies
Multidisciplinary databases relevant to Child & Youth Study
- Medline4,600 biomedical journals indexed/abstracted.
- PubMedOver 15 million citations for biomedical articles going back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals.
- SocINDEXSociology research database. 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,390 "selective" coverage journals
- Gender Studies DatabaseHundreds of journals indexed/abstracted related to women’s studies, sexual diversity, men’s studies.
- LGBT Life (EBSCO)Index for world literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. At present there is a limited full-text component.
- Humanities International CompleteA comprehensive database of humanities content, provides indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and full text from hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
- Business Source Premier8,060 journals indexed/abstracted of which 7,608 are full text and 1,112 are full text and peer-reviewed. Full text is also provided for industry and market research reports.
Journal Collections
- MSVU Journals A-ZA collection of all journals (electronic and print) subscribed to by the MSVU Library. This list is searchable only by journal title.
- Wiley Online LibraryA collection of 1,217 full-text multi-disciplinary journals.
- Taylor & Francis : Social Sciences and Humanities CollectionA collection of 662 electronic journals in the humanities and social sciences with 246 titles under the category of Education.
- JSTORJSTOR provides an extensive archive of full-text articles from the core academic journals, in most cases back to the first published volume. Of the total archive, 141 journals pertain to Education.
- SAGE Journals OnlineA collection of 623 peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning. There are 95 titles listed in the Education Collection.
- Springer LINK500 full-text multidisciplinary journals as well as access to many titles in the Springer E-Book collection. Access to Springer E-Books is also available via the link to MyiLibrary.
- Science Direct1800 full-text multi-disciplinary journals
- ALPSP Learned Journals Collection (SwetsWise)Multidisciplinary journal database with access to over 680 full-text titles. To get to the article search screen, use the link for IP authentication at the top right corner of the page.
- Project MuseOver 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
LiveHelp
Liaison Librarian for Child & Youth Study
Links: Profile & Guides |







Loading...
