MSVU logo

Find Resources
Library Services
About the Library
Archives

Ebook Collections

Finding ebooks

Novanet Discovery

  • Search for your book by topic, title, or author. Follow the steps listed below to limit your results to e-books.
  • You have access to ebooks belonging to MSVU and to Novanet. Unfortunately publishers do not allow other Nova Scotia universities and colleges to share their ebook collections.

Books & Videos


image showing the location of the books and videos tab

For your convenience, we’ve added a Books and Videos tab to our search box, which enables you to simply find books and multimedia held at the Mount and other Novanet Libraries.

Limit results to ebooks

Three steps to limit results to just the ebooks available to Mount faculty and students:

  1. Show only Full Text Online
  2. Under Resource Types, select Books (depending on your keywords you may need to use More Options to select books).
  3. Under Libraries, use More Options to select Novanet AND Mount Saint Vincent University.

  • To access the full text, click on View Online.
     
  • Mount Saint Vincent University students, faculty and staff have access to items labeled Full Text Access restricted: MSVU users only and Full Text Access available to Novanet members (Nova Scotia universities and NSCC). Unfortunately publishers do not allow other universities and colleges to share their ebook collections.
    .
  • You may be requested to login with your MSVU credentials

Accessing individual ebook collections

You can access ebooks directly from the collection provider's site.

  • Easy to login to your ebook accounts for saved bookmarks & notes
  • Warning: This method searches only the specific vendor's collection and not all books in the MSVU collection.

Frequently used MSVU ebook collections

More ebook collections

Most public libraries carry a large selection of ebooks.


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.