How to identify scholarly research articlesHow to use the databasesLocate a specific journal
This is the "Articles & Journals" page of the "Family Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Family Studies  

Last Updated: Feb 1, 2012 URL: http://libguides.msvu.ca/familystudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Articles & Journals Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Family Studies Quick Search

 

Where's the full text?

If you are unsure whether an article is available in full text or not, please click on the 'Check for full text...' link closest to the citation to check if the full text is available at MSVU. The 'Check for full text...' link will check to see if the article is available in another database, or to see if the library has a copy of the article in print. If the article is not available at MSVU please look at our document delivery options.

Citation Indexes

Citation indexes allow you to find articles which have cited other works. You can think of it as a reference list in reverse.
  • Web of Science  
    Rating
    A multidisciplinary index with the capability of searching an article's cited references to locate related research. Links are available to selected full-text articles. Includes the Social Sciences Citation Index.
  • Google Scholar  
      
      
    Rating
    The “Cited by” feature allows you to see details of later articles that have cited the article whose citation appear in the results list of a search
 

Core Journals in Family Studies

Print holdings are retained for most older volumes for which we don't have full electronic access.


Coordinator (continued by Family Life Coordinator) Vol. 1(1952) - Vol.7 (1958) Online

Family Life Coordinator                             Vol. 7(1958)- Vol. 23(1974) in print. Vol.17 (1968) - Vol. 28 (1979) Online

Family Relations (continues Family Life Coordinator)  Vol. 29 (1980) to present Online

 Family Process                                            Vol. 1(1962) to present Online

Journal of Comparative Family Studies Vol. 16 (1985) to present Online

Journal of Family and Consumer Sciences  Vol. 86(1994)- Vol. 100(2008). Vol.89 (1997) to present Online

Journal of Family History                           Vol. 1(1979)- Vol. 20(1995)  and Vol. 24 (1999) to present Online. Intervening years in print.

Journal of Family Issues                            Vol. 1 (1975) to present Online

Journal of Feminist Family Therapy        Vol. 1(1989)- Vol. 20(2008) in print. Vol. 9 (1997) to present Online

Journal of Marital and Family Therapy    Vol. 1(1975) to present Online

Marriage and Family Living   Vol. 1(1939) - Vol. 25 (1963) Online

Journal of Marriage and the Family (continues Marriage and Family Living) Vol. 26(1964) to present Online

Mediation Quarterly: Journal of the Academy of Family Mediators  Vol.1(1983)-Vol.13 (1995) Online. Vol. 17 no3(Spring 2000)- Vol. 18(2001) in print.

Conflict Resolution Quarterly (continues Mediation Quarterly) Vol. 19(2002) to present Online

 

Print Indexes

Family Index 

Ref. HQ 1 F346  Volumes 1(1995) to 4 (1998)

Sage Family Studies Abstracts

Ref. Z 7164 M2 S23  1986 to 2003

Social Sciences Index

Ref. AI 3 S6   1974 to 2005

Frequently used article databases

  • SocINDEX  
    Rating
    500 "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,390 "selective" coverage journals; links to full-text in Academic Search Premier.
  • ERIC  
      
      
    Rating
    ERIC includes journal articles [EJ] as well as books, reports, and other documents [ED]. If an ERIC report is not available online, please check with a librarian. It may be available in microfiche at the Library if the date is prior to 2004.
  • PsycINFO  
    Rating
    2000 international psychology journals, books, chapters, dissertations indexed/abstracted, links to full-text in ASP & PsychArticles.
  • PsycArticles (EBSCO)  
    Rating
    Full-text from over 70 APA, CPA and associated journals with most coverage beginning in 1985. As well as available in this stand-alone database, full text is also linked from PsycINFO

Multidisciplinary databases relevant to Family Studies

  • Academic Search Premier  
    Rating
    8000 journals indexed/abstracted (4600 full-text) in various disciplines.
  • Cambridge Journals Online  
    Rating
    A collection of 329 electronic journals covering all subject areas.
  • CBCA Complete  
    Rating
    With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,680 titles, CBCA Complete is ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada. Includes nearly 600 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian). Updated daily with full-text content (1985 to present) and bibliographic content (1971 to present).
  • Digital Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)  
    Rating
    More than 600.000 full text documents are available in PDF formats.
    For the last 10 years there are over 5,600 full-text theses on the topic of Families and Family Life.
  • EBSCO Databases
    EBSCO is a company that provides access to a collection of databases, including Ageline, SocIndex, ERIC, etc. You may select one or more database you wish to include in your search.
  • Education Full Text (EBSCO)  
    Rating
    Selective, full-text scholarly articles published from January 1996 to the current year, including the popular Chronicle of Higher Education. NOTE: Indexing only from 1983 and abstracts only from 1994.
  • Gender Studies Database  
    Rating
    Hundreds of journals indexed/abstracted related to women’s studies, sexual diversity, men’s studies; links to full-text in ASP
  • JSTOR  
    Rating
    A large collection of the most important academic journals in the Arts & Sciences, the Biological Sciences, and the Life Sciences. In most instances the volume run is complete back to the first issue. An important source of full-text for older articles and book reviews.
  • LGBT Life  
    Rating
    index for world literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. At present there is a limited full-text component.
  • Medline  
    Rating
    4,600 biomedical journals indexed/abstracted, with links to full-text in Academic Search Premier.
  • PAIS International- Public Affairs Information Service  
    Rating
    Government documents, books and 951 journals indexed/abstracted in the fields of politics, economics and social & public policy issues with some full-text links.
  • Periodicals Archive Online  
    Rating
    Periodicals Archive Online is a full-text journal archive covering close to 500 titles in the humanities and the social sciences with an emphasis on access to the backfiles of key academic journals.
  • Project Muse  
    Rating
    Over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
  • PubMed  
    Rating
    Over 15 million citations for biomedical articles going back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
  • PubMed Central Canada  
    Rating
    PMC Canada offers free access to full-text, peer reviewed health (including nutrition) and life sciences research publications.
  • Research Library  
    Rating
    4000 journals indexed/abstracted (2800 full-text) in various disciplines.
  • SAGE Journals Online
    Peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning
  • Science Direct  
    Rating
    1800 full-text multi-disciplinary journals.
  • Springer LINK  
    Rating
    Articles from 1,692 full-text science journals as well as access to over 1,700 titles in the Springer E-Book collection. Access to Springer E-Books is also available via the link to MyiLibrary.
  • Taylor & Francis: Social Sciences and Humanities Collection  
    Rating
    A collection of articles from 922 electronic journals in the humanities and social sciences.
  • Wiley Online Library  
    Rating
    1,229 full-text multi-disciplinary journals.

Librarian

Profile Image
Meg Raven, Coordinator of Reference and Instructional Services
Contact Info
MSVU Library
(902) 457-6403
meg.raven@msvu.ca
Send Email
 

LiveHelp


This page is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may reproduce any part of it for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip