MSVU logo

Find Resources
Library Services
About the Library
Archives

Help with Library Research

Find an article

  • In this example, the search provides many resources, but under the Tweak my Results is where you can select the Availability  of material you want, such as a peer reviewed journal, full-text online, and Available within Novanet. 
  • You can also specify the Resource type which offers Articles, Audio visual, books, conference proceedings, databases, and more.

  • Your initial search results will include books, videos, articles and more. 
  • On the left hand side of the screen the drop down menus allow you to Apply Filters to change the types of materials you see, but do not use the Library drop down menu as it restricts access too much.
  • To refine your search results, use the facets on the left side of the screen. To view all the results for articles, click on Articles under the Tweak my Results heading.
  •  Active Filters at the top left-hand side of the screen allows you to see which filters you are using in the drop down menu, which can be changed at anytime. 
  • You can also facet your results by Creation DateLanguageAuthor/Creator, and Subject.

  • To access the full text, click on View Online.
  • Click Full text available to view the article in a new browser window.
  • When off-campus you will need to login with your Mount credentials

Request full text articles via document delivery

  • If the article is in the Novanet libraries and do not have a full text option, you may request it  through Document Delivery on the left-hand side of the screen. Select "Click here for more options" to login 
  • You will be required to log in to the Document Delivery Request Form with your Mount ID barcode (14 digits beginning with 2935900) and PIN (usually the last 4 digits of your phone number).

 

Exporting citations to RefWorks and additional options

Search tips

  • Novanet searches for all the words you type unless OR or NOT are specified between the words and phrases.
  • To search for a phrase, type quotation marks around the phrase.
  • Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) must be typed in uppercase letters.
  • Wildcard characters are ? for a single character and * for unlimited characters.

See the Online Help file for more search techniques.


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.