MSVU logo

Find Resources
Library Services
About the Library
Archives

Help with Library Research

Find a book

  • The Novanet Discovery tab searches books and articles from Novanet Libraries plus a limited selection of databases and other sources. If you are using this tab to find a specific book title, please be aware that the results may also contain book reviews about the book (and have the same title as the book). Check the resource type to be see if you finding the book title or an article review about the book. 
     
  • For your convenience, books and videos that are held at Novanet Libraries can also be searched using the Books & Videos tab.
     
  • The instructions on this page assume you are searching with the Novanet Discovery tab. It will demonstrate how to filter your results to show you available books and how to restrict your search to a specific library.
     
  • Enter your book title or topic keywords into the search box and click Search

 

  • Your initial search results will include books, videos, articles and more. 
     
  • You can sort your search results by relevance, date-newest, popularity, author and title by choosing your preference in the sorted by: drop-down menu located at the top of your search results list.
     
  • To refine your search results, use the facets on the left side of the screen. To view all the results for books, click on Books under the Resource Type heading.
     
  • Using More Options, you may include or exclude as many resource types as you wish.
     
  • You can also facet your results by Library, Creation Date, Language, Author/Creator, and Subject and Classification. 
  • Use the Locations & Availablity tab to view availablilty, call number location and to place requests for books at other libraries.
  • Items are shelved in alphabetical order by call number.  Use the call number to find your item on the shelf at the Mount Library.
  • Learn more about how to read a call number.
You can visually browse the print holdings in your library by clicking on the “Browse the Shelf” tab. This tab will only appear on print holdings held by your library.
You can visually browse the print holdings in your library by clicking on the “Browse the Shelf” tab. This tab will only appear on print holdings held by your library.

Request a book from another library

  • If the book is not available at your library, request it from another Novanet Library. You must be logged in to place requests. 
  • Your login is your Mount ID barcode (14 digits beginning with 2935900) and PIN (usually the last 4 digits of your phone number).
  • Once you are logged in, select Hold to request the whole book, or Request Photocopy to request a photocopy of a chapter be sent to you.
  • Select the library at which you would like to pickup your item and click Hold to confirm.
  • When you se the Action Succeeded message, click on Back to Result List to resume your searching

Document Delivery

  • If the books in the Novanet libraries  are all out on loan, you may request it  from a university outside of Nova Scotia through Document Delivery under the More Options tab. Choose Request Book on the login screen
  • If you wish to request a chapter from a book but prefer to recieve it as a PDF sent by email you may request the chapter through Document Deliver under the More Options tab. Choose Request Article on the login screen. You will need to provide the page numbers you wish sent to you.
  • You will be required to log in to the Document Delivery Request Form with your Mount ID barcode (14 digits beginning with 2935900) and PIN (usually the last 4 digits of your phone number).

Limit results to the Mount Library

Limit results to a specific library

  • *Tip* If you have searched for "endangered species" and only want to see print books available at the Mount Library, you choose: Show Only = "Available in the Library," Library= "Mount Library." This will tailor your search results to only list physical materials at the Mount Library.
     
  • The limits you have placed on a search are shown in small boxes above your results. To remove a limit, click on the small x beside the limit name.

Limit results to ebooks

Three steps to limit results to just the ebooks available to Mount faculty and students:

  1. Show only Full Text Online
  2. Under Resource Types, select Books (depending on your keywords you may need to use More Options to select books).
  3. Under Libraries, use More Options to select Novanet AND Mount Saint Vincent University.

  • To access the full text, click on View Online.
     
  • Mount Saint Vincent University students, faculty and staff have access to items labeled Full Text Access restricted: MSVU users only and Full Text Access available to Novanet members (Nova Scotia universities and NSCC). Unfortunately publishers do not allow other universities and colleges to share their ebook collections.
    .
  • You may be requested to login with your MSVU credentials

Exporting citations to RefWorks and additional options

Click on the Cite/Email menu for additional options like citation examples and exporting to RefWorks. Please note that the options for email and print are for the Novanet record and *not* for the full text book.

Search tips

  • Novanet searches for all the words you type unless OR or NOT are specified between the words and phrases.
  • To search for a phrase, type quotation marks around the phrase.
  • Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) must be typed in uppercase letters.
  • Wildcard characters are ? for a single character and * for unlimited characters.

See the Online Help file for more search techniques.


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.