How to identify scholarly research articlesHow to locate a journalHow to use the article databases
This is the "Articles & Journals" page of the "Public Policy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Public Policy  

Last Updated: Apr 30, 2012 URL: http://libguides.msvu.ca/publicpolicy Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Articles & Journals Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Public Policy Articles Quick search

 

Where's the full text?

If you are unsure whether an article is available in full text or not, please click on the 'Check for full text...' link closest to the citation to check if the full text is available at MSVU. The 'Check for full text...' link will check to see if the article is available in another database, or to see if the library has a copy of the article in print. If the article is not available at MSVU please look at our document delivery options.

Current Events

  • Canadian Newsstand Atlantic  
    Rating
    29 full text newspapers from the Atlantic region.
  • Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies  
    Rating
    Includes 21 national and leading regional newspapers such as The Globe and Mail, National Post, St. John's Telegram, Halifax Daily News, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Toronto Star, Regina Leader Post, Edmonton Journal, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times Colonist.
  • Newspapers: Full-Text (Eureka.cc)  
    Rating
    Full-text of over 1,500 of the World's newspapers and other news sources. (Includes 6 Nova Scotia newspapers).

Frequently Used Article Databases

  • PAIS International- Public Affairs Information Service  
    Rating
    Government documents, books and 951 journals indexed/abstracted in the fields of politics, economics and social & public policy issues with some full-text links.
  • SocINDEX (EBSCO)  
    Rating
    Five hundred "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,390 "selective" coverage journals; links to full-text in Academic Search Premier
  • GreenFILE
    Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. A good resource for searching articles about environmental policy.
  • CBCA Complete  
    Rating
    With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,680 titles, CBCA Complete is ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada. Includes nearly 600 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian). Updated daily with full-text content (1985 to present) and bibliographic content (1971 to present).
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)  
      
      
    Rating
    Eight thousand journals indexed/abstracted (4600 full-text) in various disciplines
  • Research Library  
    Rating
    4000 journals indexed/abstracted (2800 full-text) in various disciplines.
  • Web of Science
    A multidisciplinary index to over 8,700 leading peer-reviewed journal articles in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences, and the Sciences. Can search cited references to locate related research. Links to full-text articles.
  • America: History & Life  
    Rating
    Excellent resource for Canadian history topics: 2000 Canadian/US history journals indexed/abstracted from 1964 to present (links to full-text).

Journal Collections

  • Journals A-Z  
    Rating
    A list of all journals (electronic and print) subscribed to by the MSVU Library. This list is searchable only by journal title.

    The following journal collections are searchable either by journal title or by article keywords:
  • Taylor & Francis : Social Sciences and Humanities Collection  
    Rating
    A collection of 662 electronic journals in the humanities and social sciences.
  • Project Muse  
    Rating
    Over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
  • Wiley Online Library  
    Rating
    1,229 full-text multi-disciplinary journals.
  • SAGE Journals Online  
    Rating
    peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning
  • JSTOR  
    Rating
    A large collection of the most important academic journals in the Arts & Sciences, the Biological Sciences, and the Life Sciences. In most instances the volume run is complete back to the first issue. An important source of full-text for older articles and book reviews.

Librarian

Profile Image
Meg Raven, Coordinator of Reference and Instructional Services
Contact Info
MSVU Library
(902) 457-6403
meg.raven@msvu.ca
Send Email
 

Public Policy Journals at the Mount : A Selection

Canadian Journal of Political Science (Canada) 1968 +

Canadian Public Administration (Canada) 1958 +

Canadian Public Policy (Canada) 1995 +

Cato Journal (US) 1981 +

Comparative Politics (US) 1968 +

Governance (US) 1988 +

Journal of Comparative Policy Analysis: Research and Practice (Canada) 1998 +

Journal of European Public Policy (UK) 1997 +

Journal of Policy Analysis and Management (US) 1981 +

Journal of Public Policy (UK) 1981 +

Journal of Social Policy (UK) 1997 +

Nova Scotia Policy Review (Canada) 2007 to 2009

Policy (Australia) 2000 +

Policy and Society: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Policy Research (Singapore) 2002 +

Policy Options (Canada) 1980 +

Policy Sciences (US) 1970 +

Policy Studies (UK) 1998 +

Policy Studies Journal (US) 1972 +

Public Policy Research (UK) 2005 +

Studies in Political Economy (Canada) 1979 +


This page is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may reproduce any part of it for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip