MSVU logo

Find Resources
Library Services
About the Library
Archives

Course Reserves

Posting Your Own Material and Library Resources to Moodle

The Library's Reserves and eReserves service is always available to faculty members. Faculty may also choose to post their own documents and links to Moodle. The resources on this page are intended to assist faculty who wish to take the "self-serve" route.

Linking to Mount Library Resources

Always use permalinks with the Mount Library proxy when linking to Mount Library online resources.  permalink is a web address that will consistently point to a specific information source such as an ebook, an article, a record in the catalog, a video, or a database. 

permalink may also be called a stable link, durable link, persistent link, permanent link or document link, depending on the resource.

How do I find permalinks?
Most research databases include a permalink in the article record.  The terms used and the location of these links in the record vary from one database to another.  Visit the Mount Library's Databases A-Z list and click on 'Linking Instructions'  more details on locating the permalinks for the various library electronic resources.

Why can't I just copy the URL in my browser's address bar?
Web addresses (URLs) that appear in the address bar of your web browser when you search the library's subscription databases usually contain dynamically generated session-based or search-based information that will not work when copied and used at a later time.

Why would I use a permalink rather than just upload the article into Moodle, Google docs, faculty webpages, email or elsewhere?
You may be in violation of copyright law or license restrictions if you post content without appropriate authorization or permission.  Using permalinks is the preferred option.  For more information about copyright law, please see the Copyright and Fair Dealing Guide.  Permalinks are also used to help track statistics.  Usage statistics help the library to purchase the right resources for you. 

How do I know if a permalink will work from off campus?
When on campus, access is transparent -- you are being authenticated even if you don't realize it because we recognize the IP address.  When off campus, authentication via a proxy server, allows us to recognize and authenticate Mount Library users.  In order for the library's electronic resources paid subscriptions (ebooks, journals) to work from outside our campus network or off campus, they must contain the library's proxy in the URL or web address.  This in turn will open a dialog box prompting the user for her Mount login.  

Emails and Permalinks:
It's essential that you always include the library proxy with a permalink because an email may be shared or read off campus.

What does the Library Proxy look like?

It looks like this - http://ezproxy.msvu.ca/login?url=     

It is usually in front of a URL. 

Here's an example:  http://ezproxy.msvu.ca/login?url=http://lch.sagepub.com/content/10/2/212.full.pdf+html 

Here's another example: http://lch.sagepub.com.ezproxy.msvu.ca/content/10/2/212.full.pdf+html

Certain types of databases, such as open access databases, do not need to use the library proxy. 

Showing Mount Library Streaming Video
via Blackboard Collaborate

The Mount Library subscribes to several streaming video collections. 

Please click on the 'Linking Instructions' under each collection to view the best practice for sending links, and for streaming the videos in Blackboard Collaborate.

Please do not show films or film clips  in you Blackboard Collaborate sessions for the following reasons:

  1. The Blackboard Colaborate application sharing was never intended for movies. There will be many lags, delays and slowness, leading to very poor viewing experience.
  2. Blackboard Colaborate class sessions are set to automatically record for repeated viewing. This type of recording violates the copyright of most films unless they are under creative commons license or are in the public domain.​

Making PDFs Smaller & More Useful to Students

A large PDF may not upload correctly to Moodle, may be difficult to share via e-mail. and students may have trouble downloading it.

A PDF scanned directly from a book may be difficult to navigate or read, especially for students with certain disabilities.

Using the full Adobe Acrobat suite**, there are several options for reducing the size of a PDF and making it more user-friendly:

Run Text Recognition:

  • Tools (top right-hand side)          --> Text Recognition
  • Select options and follow prompts according to your needs

Optimize the PDF:

  • Tools (top right-hand side) --> Action Wizard
  • Select Optimize Scanned Documents
  • Select options and follow prompts according to your needs

Print the PDF as a PDF... again:

  • File --> Print --> Select Adobe PDF from printer list
  • In the Comments & Forms drop-down, select Document Only
  • Check the Print in Grayscale box (unless you need colour)

**These tips refer to Adobe Acrobat 11, not Adobe Reader. Consult IT&S if you have questions about available software.

Log in to Moodle for eReserves access via your course

Check for Print Reserves via Novanet


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.