----- A -----
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Provides indexing, abstracting for over 4,000 full-text journal articles in a wide range of disciplines.
- Acadiensis: Journal of the History of the Atlantic Region
The leading journal for students and researchers in the field of Maritimes history. This site allows you can to enter search terms for articles on your topic in Acadiensis.
- Ageline (EBSCO)
300 journals on gerontology indexed/abstracted; links to full-text in Academic Search Primier.
- Aging and Seniors
The Division of Aging and Seniors, Public Health Agency of Canada, provides federal leadership in areas pertaining to aging and seniors.
- Agricola (EBSCO)
Citations to journal articles and other publications (including books and audiovisuals) on agriculture and related topics including plant and animal sciences, entomology, food and nutrition.
- ALPSP Learned Journals Collection (SwetsWise)
Multidisciplinary journal database with access to over 680 full-text titles.
- America: History & Life (EBSCO)
Excellent resource for Canadian history topics: 2000 Canadian/US history journals indexed/abstracted (links to full-text).
- American Chemical Society
Full-text access to 42 key chemistry journals.
- American Film Scripts Online
This edition of American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) contains 497 scripts by 605 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts.
- Anthropological Index Online
1450 current journals indexed (holdings of The Anthropology Library at the British Museum; no full-text).
- Archives Canada
Links to virtual exhibits and photo databases residing on the web sites of individual archives or rovincial/Territorial Councils.
- ArchiviaNet
online research and consultation tool, provides access to a variety of information resources related to the actual archival holdings.
- Asian American Drama
This edition of Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
- Atlantic Centre of Excellence for Women's Health
- Atlantic Health Promotion Research Centre
- Atlas of Canada
The Atlas of Canada, produced by Natural Resources Canada, in partnership with Statistics Canada, presents a series of maps and accompanying analysis of national and regional data results from the 2006 Census.
----- B -----
- Bioline International
Online database that provides access to peer-reviewed journals in the Biosciences from Brazil, China, India, Iran, Nigeria, Venezuela and other countries.
- BioWizard Research Portal
- Black Drama
Contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photos.
- Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture contains 795 sources with 434 authors which includes the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans.
- Book Review Index
Indexes reviews of books located in a wide range of scholarly and popular journals from 1965 to the present.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
This edition of British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters.
- British Library
- BUBL Information Service
Selected Internet resources covering all academic subject areas
- Business Source Premier
8,060 journals indexed/abstracted of which 7,608 are full text and 1,112 are full text and peer-reviewed. Full text is also provided for industry and market research reports.
----- C -----
- CAIRN
The most comprehensive collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities: over 66,000 articles in 240 journals from 2001 to the present.
- Cambridge Journals Online
A collection of 329 electronic journals covering all subject areas.
- Cambridge University Press E-Books
An e-book collection of 2,542 titles on all subjects published by Cambridge University Press between 1995 and 2009.
- Canada's Heritage: The Globe & Mail from 1844
Full-text newspaper archive of The Globe from June 1844 to The Globe and Mail until 2009.
- Canadian Children's Book Centre Catalogue
The Canadian Children's Book Centre has a collection of every Canadian children's books published since 1976, including young adult books, series and juvenile non-fiction. The MSVU Library is now the Atlantic regional deposit for this collection of over 6,000 titles.
You can also access the titles in the CCBC Collection by searching the Novanet catalogue.
- Canadian Discovery Portal
Searches the Canadian Metadata Repository which provides links to digital collections of several Canadian memory institutions. The Canadiana Discovery Portal can now search over 930,000 online records
- Canadian Electronic Library Publishers Collection
Over 8,000 English and French e-book titles from 47 Canadian publishers including the major Canadian university and scholarly presses.
- Canadian Encyclopedia
The Canadian Encyclopedia comprises the complete text and multimedia of the indispensable reference work originally published in 1985. Since the encyclopedia appeared online in 2001, it has been continuously updated and expanded.
- Canadian Newsstand Atlantic
29 full text newspapers from the Atlantic region.
- Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies
Includes 21 national and leading regional newspapers such as The Globe and Mail, National Post, St. John's Telegram, Halifax Daily News, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Toronto Star, Regina Leader Post, Edmonton Journal, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times Colonist.
- Canadian Social Trends
maintained by the Government of Canada's Depository Services Program this resource contains articles written by Statistics Canada researchers on social situations in Canada.
- Canadian Tax Research Books, Products, and Services
Chartered Accountants of Canada is pleased to provide students and faculty with complimentary access to CICA's Tax Suite Premium package: Income Tax, GST/HST and Provincial Tax databases as well as daily news updates. CICA is a provider of Canadian tax research books, products and articles.
- CARL Open Archives Metadata Harvester
The content from institution-based repositories in Canada are indexed as a single collection.
- CBCA Business
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Business provides in-depth access to a broad range of Canadian business periodicals. It satisfies the information needs of business professionals, journalists, students, and teachers interested in business issues in Canada. Over 500 journals make up the collection, with file depth back to the early 1970s. Trade journals, general business publications, academic journals, topical journals, and professional publications are all included.
- CBCA Complete
With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,680 titles, CBCA Complete is ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada. Includes nearly 600 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian). Updated daily with full-text content (1985 to present) and bibliographic content (1971 to present).
- CBCA Education
CBCA Education backfile provides citations to educational literature published from 1976 to 1998. From 1997 on, the CBCA Education database provides, in addition to citations, the fulltext of education articles from a broad spectrum of Canadian newspapers and magazines.
- CBCA Reference & Current Events
A full text database with articles from trade journals, general business publications, academic journals, topical journals, and professional publications. Current events are interpreted broadly to include politics, business, the arts, sports, and any other kind of news, whether happening in Canada or abroad, in newspapers, newswires, transcripts, news magazines, as well as television and radio transcripts. 1980 - present
- Chicago Manual of Style Online
- Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
more than 13,000 resources from the many disciplines related to child care and early education.
- Child Development & Adolescent Studies (EBSCO)
Hundreds of journals indexed/abstracted related to the growth and development of children, links to full-text in ASP.
- Children's Literature Review
Excerpts from reviews, criticism, and commentary on books for children and young people. The online resource begins at Vol. 102, 2005. Previous volumes are in the library's reference collection - call no: Ref. PN 1009 A1 C5139.
- China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980
Manuscript and pictorial material relating to the activities and observations of diplomats, missionaries, tourists etc. in China from 1793 to 1980. All full-text searchable.
- Choice Reviews Online
Written by academics, Choice Reviews evaluate books in all disciplines.
- CICA Standards and Guidance Collection
Provides access to the accounting handbook and to a provincial tax rate calculator by clicking on the Subscriptions tab.
- Classical Scores Library
Contains 400,000 pages of classical music scores, manuscripts, unpublished material for the study and analysis of musical scores. Vocal texts are re-keyed to allow searching.
- Cochrane Library: Evidence for Healthcare Decision-Making
Cochrane Systematic Reviews investigate the effects of interventions for prevention, treatment and rehabilitation in a healthcare setting.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
400 journals indexed/abstracted, (200 full-text)
- Community Information Database
CID is a free internet-based resource developed to provide access to consistent and reliable socio-economic data for Canadian communities. An interactive map is provided to display and access data.
- Conference Board of Canada's e-Library
Conference Board of Canada’s publications library. It contains all of the Conference Board's periodical publications, research reports, economic studies as well as special reports and presentations by Conference Board staff dating back to 1998.
- CREPUQ Statistical and Geographic Data
A gateway to a wide range of statistics from Statistics Canada and related national agencies.
- CUFTS Journal Search
Enter the title of a journal and locate the database that will index its contents.
----- D -----
- Defining Gender 1450-1910
A collection of primary source documents on gender relations in England from the late Middle Ages to the early twentieth century.
- Dictionary of Canadian Biography
Biographies of Canadian persons who died between the years 1000 and 1930 or whose last known date of activity falls within these years.
- Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Studies of selected pivotal ideas, edited by Philip P. Wiener, originally published by Charles Scribner's Sons, New York, in 1973-74.
- Digital Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)
Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 full text documents are available in PDF formats.
- Directory of Open Access Books
The Directory of Open Access Books features a searchable and browsable directory of a number of e-books published by academic publishers that are freely available. Some of the publishers include:
Athabasca Univerisity Press, University of Michigan Press, and Manchester University Press, among others.
- Discovering American Women's History Online
Gateway to 405 digital collections of primary sources - photos, letters, diaries, artifacts etc. - documenting women in U.S. history.
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
A library of over 5,100 scholarly and scientific open access journals and over 416,000 articles and research papers from a wide range of academic fields.
----- E -----
- E-STAT
access to the Censuses and to CANSIM II (Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System) time series with annual updates.
- Early Canadiana Online
Canadian History - Primary Documents. It features works published from the time of the first European settlers up to the early 20th Century.
- Early Encounters in North America
This release of Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.
- EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)
Electronic book collection of 399 titles in Business, Nursing and Education.
- EBL: Electronic Book Library
A comprehensive collection of some 171,000 electronic books, the majority scholarly in content, in all subject areas. Login required on and off campus.
- EBSCO Databases
Collection of all databases provided by EBSCO. You may select which databases you wish to include in your search. Databases include: Academic Source Premier, AgeLine, Agricola, Humanities International Complete, Business Source Premier, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Medline,and ERIC.
- Ebsco Databases - on campus only access
- Education Full Text (EBSCO)
Selective, full-text scholarly articles published from January 1996 to the current year, including the popular Chronicle of Higher Education. NOTE: Indexing only from 1983 and abstracts only from 1994.
- We no longer subscribe to Education Research Complete (EBSCO)
Most articles accessed via Education Research Complete are available through other article databases including ERIC, Academic Search Premier, Research Library (Proquest) and Education Full Text (Wilson). Please contact a librarian if you need assistance finding an article.
- Educator's Reference Desk
From the Information Institute of Syracuse (USA), lesson plans, links to online education information, and question archive responses.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Contains digitized texts of over 183,000 titles published during the 18th Century.
- Eighteenth Century Journals
Rare periodicals printed between 1693 and 1799 illuminating all aspects of 18th century social, political and literary life in Great Britain and Ireland.
- Electronic Text Centre
University of Virginia's archive of texts and images in the humanities. Of 70,000 texts, 10,000 are accessible to the public.
Their English collection contains fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, letters, newspapers, manuscripts and illustration
- Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature
Internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English.
- Emerald Insight Management Extra Collection
A collection of 46 electronic journals in management studies and related fields.
- Empire Online
Five section of texts and pictures on the colonial experience: Cultural Contact 1492-1969; Literature and Empire; Visible Empire (photos etc.); Religion and Empire; Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism 1607-2007
- Equinox Data Delivery Systems (IDLS)
Access to data files from Statistics Canada Census and surveys.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
980 education journals and 2200 digests indexed/abstracted, links to full-text in ASP and ERIC Documents (EDRS).
- Erudit: Promoting and Disseminating Research
Canadian research on the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences published in either French or English in academic journals, e-books, theses.
- Europeana
Europe's multilingual library of 4.6 digitized books, maps, film clips, and newspapers, the majority in the public domain. French materials are well represented.
----- F -----
- Families at Work Institute
- From Artillery to Zuppa Circus: Recorded memory of theatre life in Nova Scotia
----- G -----
- Gael Stream digital collection
A comprehensive collection of digital material relating to Nova Scotia's living Gaelic tradition.
- Gale Reference E-Books
Search reference books including International Directory of Company Histories; Children's Literature Review; Something About the Author; Contemporary Authors; Contemporary Authors New Revision Series; link to Book Review Index & 18th Century collections.
- Gallica
A selection of French-language digitized documents from the National Library of France.
- Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)
Hundreds of journals indexed/abstracted related to women’s studies, sexual diversity, men’s studies; links to full-text in ASP.
- Genres in academic writing
an explanation of genre practices and conventions
- GLBTQ: an encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture
- Google Scholar
An academic search engine, tells you whether articles are available in the Novanet system.
- Green Interview
The Green Interview : video and audio interviews between Silver Donald Cameron and those thinkers, writers, and observers who are leading the way to a new era of sustainability. Among the leaders interviewed to date are Elizabeth May, Gwynne Dyer, James Lovelock, Paul Watson, and Farley Mowat.
- GreenFILE (EBSCO)
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
----- H -----
- Halifax public libraries
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
2000 world history journals indexed/abstracted with links to full-text.
- Hospitality and Tourism Index (EBSCO)
500 hospitality and tourism journals indexed/abstracted with links to full-text.
- How to Cite Statistics Canada Products
This site describes in three steps how to build bibliographic references when citing Statistics Canada products and materials. It also gives instructions on how to cite sources other than Statistics Canada.
- Humanities International Complete (EBSCO)
A comprehensive database of humanities content, provides indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and full text from hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
----- I -----
- In the First Person
In-depth indexing of more than 2,500 collections of oral history in English from around the world.
- Institute for Research on Public Policy
- Institute of Physics Journals Online
Full-text access to 66 key physics journals.
- Intelex Past Masters
A collection of 117 full-text databases of the writings of leading scholars and creative writers of the past. Particularly strong for women's writings from the 18th century to the early 20th century.
- International Directory of Company Histories
Online volumes from v.67 2005 to v. 99 2009. Print volumes from v.1 to v.68 are shelved as Ref. HD 2721 D36
- Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a non-profit Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access to web sites and collections that exist in digital format.
- Internet Sacred Text Archive
Archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, in some cases, in the original language.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter's bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included.
----- J - K-----
- JSTOR
A large collection of the most important academic journals in the Arts & Sciences, the Biological Sciences, and the Life Sciences. In most instances the volume run is complete back to the first issue. An important source of full-text for older articles and book reviews.
- Jux2
Compare Google, Yahoo, and MSN with One Search.
----- L -----
- Latino Literature
Latino Literature contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.
- LGBT Life (EBSCO)
Index for world literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. At present there is a limited full-text component.
- Library and Archives Canada
- Library of Congress (U.S.A)
- Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts journal articles in the areas of librarianship and information science.
----- M -----
- Maritime Provinces Higher Education Commission (MPHEC)
An excellent source of statistics and research reports on the topic of post-secondary education in the Maritimes.
- Mass Observation Online
Access to an important manuscript and pictorial archive for the study of British Social History from 1937 to 1972 with an emphasis on the Depression era, World War II and the 1950s.
- Math Central
Math Central is an Internet service for mathematics students and teachers. This site is maintained by faculty and students in Mathematics and Statistics and Mathematics Education at the University of Regina in Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada.
- MathSciNet
1799 mathematics journals indexed/abstracted. Links to full text in Science Direct.
- MathWorld
A nexus of mathematical information spanning all educational levels. It is considered clear, readable and reliable.
- Medieval studies: Gateways, subject guides, and more
compiled by John Jaeger and Paul Victor Jr. for American Library Association, C&RL News, April 2005 Vol. 66, No. 4
- Medieval Travel Writing
A collection of medieval manuscripts on travel writing - both fact and fiction from the 13th to 16th centuries augmented by translations and supporting materials including maps.
- Medline
4,600 biomedical journals indexed/abstracted, with links to full-text in Academic Search Premier.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCO)
produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
- Michigan Retirement Research Center
- MLA International Bibliography
4400 literary journals, book publishers and dissertations indexed.
- MSVU Art Gallery
The Art Gallery reflects the University’s educational aims by developing a significant part of its activities to the representation of women as cultural subjects and producers. Coming soon: online catalogue essays.
- MyiLibrary
Electronic books from a wide variety of disciplines with an emphasis on the humanities, social sciences, biomedicine, and life sciences.
----- N -----
- National Academies Press
The NAP publishes over 200 books a year on a wide range of scientific topics as open access PDF or html files.
- National Clearinghouse on Family Violence (NCFV)
- National Research Council Journals
15 full-text journals published by the Canadian National Research Council. Access is provided to articles published from 1951 to the end of 2010.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations. For students and researchers, the Union Catalog makes individual collections of NDLTD member institutions and consortia appear as one seamless digital library of ETDs.
- New York Times Archive: 1851-1980
Articles published from Sept. 1851 to Dec. 1980.
NOTE: free access is only available for articles in the Public Domain (1851-1922).
- Newspapers: Full-Text (Eureka.cc)
Full-text of over 1,500 of the World's newspapers and other news sources. (Includes 6 Nova Scotia newspapers).
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
- North American Indian Thought and Culture
Primary sources by and about the native peoples of North America - autobiography, speeches, diaries, letters. Formerly called North American Indian Biographical Database.
- North American Theatre Online
North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It serves as the tool to cross-search, Asian American Drama, Black Drama, Twentieth Century North American Drama, and North American
- North American Women's Drama
This edition of North American Women's Drama contains 1021 plays by 247 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
- Nova Scotia Advisory Council on the Status of Women
- Nova Scotia Public Libraries
- Nursing History Digitization Project: Nursing Education in Nova Scotia
explores the history of nursing education in Nova Scotia from 1890, when the Victoria General Hospital established the first nursing school in Nova Scotia, to the late twentieth century.
----- O -----
- Online Books
University of Pennsylvania's Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all
- Open Access: a guide for Mount Saint Vincent University scholars
- Oral History Online
Oral History Online provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,500 collections of Oral History in English from around the world.
- Our Roots: Canadian local histories
Comprehensive collection of Canadian local histories
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Detailed biographies of deceased persons who have made a significant contribution to Great Britain and the British Empire.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language and the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words.
- Oxford Journals Online
A collection of 180 electronic journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Oxford University Press e-books
A collection of 5,137 e-book titles on all subjects published by OUP between 1948 and 2010.
----- P - Q -----
- PAIS International- Public Affairs Information Service
Government documents, books and 951 journals indexed/abstracted in the fields of politics, economics and social & public policy issues with some full-text links.
- PEN (Practice-Based Evidence in Nutrition)
"Your nutrition knowledge destination". Timely, current and authoritative guidance that answers the day-to-day questions encountered in practice of dietitians in all settings.
- Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is a full-text journal archive covering close to 500 titles in the humanities and the social sciences with an emphasis on access to the backfiles of key academic journals.
- Pew Internet & American Life Project
reports exploring the impact of the Internet on U.S. families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life.
- Philosopher's Index
The Philosopher's Index is a comprehensive subject and author index to Philosophical articles, books, and anthologies. More than 550 journals from more than 40 countries are indexed.
- PLoS ONE
A large collection of open access articles in the sciences: Maths, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Nutrition, Mental and Physical Health.
- Project Gutenberg
A repository of tens of thousands of public domain texts, freely available online.
- Project Muse
Over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
- Proquest databases
Collection of all databases provided by Proquest. Databases include: Canadian Newsstand (Atlantic and Major Dailies); CBCA Complete; Research Library; MLA International; PAIS; Philosopher's Index; ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT)
- PsycArticles (EBSCO)
Full-text from over 70 APA, CPA and associated journals with most coverage beginning in 1985. As well as available in this stand-alone database, full text is also linked from PsycINFO
- PsycINFO (EBSCO)
2000 international psychology journals, books, chapters, dissertations indexed/abstracted, links to full-text in Academic Search Premier & PsychArticles.
- Public Health Agency of Canada
- Public Policy Initiative
- PubMed
Over 15 million citations for biomedical articles going back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- PubMed Central Canada
PMC Canada offers free access to full-text, peer reviewed health (including nutrition) and life sciences research publications.
----- R -----
- Research Library
4000 journals indexed/abstracted (2800 full-text) in various disciplines.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Journals
Full-text access to 32 key chemistry journals and 6 specialized databases.
----- S -----
- SAGE Journals Online
peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning
- Science Direct
1800 full-text multi-disciplinary journals.
- SciFinder Scholar
Accessible only from computers in the Chemistry Lab, computer labs and Information Commons. To register as a valid MSVU user, please contact a faculty member in the MSVU Chemistry Department.
- Scirus
Academic search engine.
- SEDAP: Social and Economic Dimensions of an Aging Population
SEDAP is a multi-disciplinary research program funded primarily by SSHRC and centered at McMaster University. It involves 46 academics from fourteen universities in Canada and 3 abroad. The program runs from Jan 1, 2005 to Mar 31, 2010.
- SIECUS - The Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice 1490-2007
Manuscript and printed material on trans-Atlantic slavery and abolition along with contextual essays by leading academics. Includes Slavery as it exists today.
- Smithsonian Global Sound
A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators and students, with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
- Social Psychology Network
Searchable database of more than 11,000 annotated web links related to psychology.
- SocINDEX (EBSCO)
500 "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,390 "selective" coverage journals; links to full-text in Academic Search Premier.
- Something About the Author
Information on the lives and works of contemporary and historical authors as well as illustrators of children’s books. The online resource begins at Vol. 154, 2005. Previous volumes are in the library's reference collection - call no: Ref. PN 451
- Springer - LINK
Articles from 1,692 full-text science journals as well as access to over 7,100 titles in the Springer E-Book collection.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an online encyclopedia of philosophy run and maintained by Stanford University. Each entry is written and maintained by an expert in the field, including professors from over 65 academic institutions worldwide.
- Status of Women Canada
----- T -----
- Taylor & Francis: Social Sciences and Humanities Collection
A collection of articles from 922 electronic journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- Taylor and Francis E-Books
An e-book collection of over 11,870 multidisciplinary titles published between 1933 and 2010.
- Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines.
- Test Reviews Online
A title and keyword index to the educational and psychological test reviews found in the many volumes of Mental Measurements Yearbook ( in print as Ref. Z 5814 P8 B932 and online from the 9th ed.).
- Tests in Print (EBSCO)
Serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, and price, etc.
- The Way We Were : Nova Scotia in Film 1917-1957
Archival film footage from the collections of Nova Scotia Archives & Records Management, including the Halifax Explosion (1917), the V-E Day Riots in Halifax (1945), as well as more domestic images.
- Theatre in Video
Video performances of plays and video documentaries from Shakespeare to the present.
- Theses Canada Portal
Full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations that were published since 1998.
- Twentieth Century North American Drama
This edition of Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 834 plays by 124 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
----- U -----
- UN data
A wealth of statistical information with options for users to save and manipulate the data in a variety of formats.
- Using a metasite
An excellent tutorial from University of Wisconsin System Women's Studies Librarian. It shows you how to best find web pages that list Women Studies related resources.
----- V -----
- Vanier Institute of the Family
- Vaughan Memorial Library, Acadia
----- W -----
- Web of Science
A multidisciplinary index to over 10,000 leading peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences, and the Sciences. Can search cited references to locate related research. Links to full-text articles.
- Wiley Online Library
1,229 full-text multi-disciplinary journals.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 currently includes 65 document projects with 1,800 documents, and more than 23,000 pages of additional full-text documents. It includes as well book, film and website reviews and teaching tools.
- Women Working, 1870-1930
Explores women's roles in the USA economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. The collection currently contains 3,460 books and pamphlets, 1,125 photographs, and 7,489 pages from manuscript collections.
- Women Writers Online
Full-text project devoted to early modern women's writing and includes the Renaissance Women Online database.
- Women's Resources: Sites of Interest
Compiled by Sharon Hybki Kerr and George D. Oberle III for American Library Association, C&RL News, May 2005 Vol. 66, No. 5.
- Women's Studies / Women's Issues Resource Sites
A listing of various information information resources and websites on women studies and issues.
- WorldCat
World-wide catalogue.
- Worldometers
World Statistics updated in real time.
----- X, Y, Z -----
- Young Canadians in a Wired World
The online behaviour and attitudes of some 5200 young people from grades 4-11 across Canada. Contains links to a trends and recommendations report as well as the full student survey and report.