Quick search
Sociology Articles:
Where's the full text?
If you are unsure whether an article is available in full text or not, please click on the 'Check for full text...' link closest to the citation to check if the full text is available at MSVU. The 'Check for full text...' link will check to see if the article is available in another
database, or to see if the library has a copy of the article in print. If the article is not available at MSVU please look at our document delivery options.
Selection of Core Journals at the Mount
American Journal of Economics and Sociology Vol. 1, 1941 to the present (online)
American Journal of Sociology Vol. 1, 1895 to the present (online)
American Sociological Review Vol. 1, 1936 to the present (online)
American Sociologist Vol. 1, 1965 to Vol. 37, 2006 (print). Vol. 18, 1987 to the present (online)
Canadian Ethnic Studies Vol. 1, 1969 to the present (online)
Canadian Journal of Sociology Vol. 1, 1975 to the present (online)
Canadian Review of Sociology Vol. 29, 1992 to the present (online)
Canadian Review of Sociology and Anthropology Vol. 1, 1964 to Vol. 44, 2007 (print). Vol. 36, 1999 to Vol. 44, 2007 (online).
Canadian Social Trends 1986 to the present (print). 1995 to the present (online)
Comparative Studies in Society and History Vol. 1, 1958 to the present (online)
Contemporary Sociology Vol. 1, 1972 to the present (online)
Current Sociology Vol. 31, 1983 to Vol. 52, 2004 (print). Vol 47, 1999 to the present (online)
Directions: Research Reviews from the Canadian Race Relations Foundation 2008 to 2011 (print). Call no. F1035 A1 D57
International Review for the Sociology of Sport Vol. 19,1984) to Vol. 30, 1995 (print). Vol. 34 (1999) to present (online)
Journal of Social History Vol. 1, 1967/68 to the present (online)
Journal of Social Issues Vol. 1, 1945 to Vol. 63, 2007 (print). Vol. 51, 1995 to present (online)
Social Forces Vol. 1, 1922 to the present (online)
Social Policy Vol. 2, 1971/72 to Vol. 38, 2007/08 (print). Vol. 21, 1990 to present (online)
Social Problems Vol. 1, 1953 to Vol. 55, 2008 (online)
Social Research Vol. 1, 1934 to the present (online)
Society Vol. 1, 1963 to the present (online)
Sociological Inquiry Vol. 31, 1961 to the present (online)
Sociological Quarterly Vol. 1, 1960 to the present (online)
Sociological Theory Vol. 1, 1983 to the present (online)
Sociology of Religion Vol. 1, 1940 to the present (online)
Work and Occupations Vol. 10, 1983 to Vol. 31, 2004 (print). Vol. 26, 1999 to present (online)
Citation Indexes
- Web of Science
A multidisciplinary index with the capability of searching an article's cited references to locate related research. Links are available to selected full-text articles. - Google Scholar
The “Cited by” feature allows you to see details of later articles that have cited the article whose citation appear in the results list of a search
Frequently used article databases
- SocINDEX
500 "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,390 "selective" coverage journals; links to full-text in Academic Search Premier - Academic Search Premier
8000 journals indexed/abstracted (4600 full-text) in various disciplines - Research Library
4000 journals indexed/abstracted (2800 full-text) in various disciplines. - Gender Studies Database
Hundreds of journals indexed/abstracted related to women’s studies, sexual diversity, men’s studies; links to full-text in ASP
Multidisciplinary databases and journal collections relevant to Sociology
- Academic Search Premier8000 journals indexed/abstracted (4600 full-text) in various disciplines.
- Cambridge Journals OnlineA collection of 329 electronic journals covering all subject areas.
- CBCA Complete
With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,680 titles, CBCA Complete is ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada. Includes nearly 600 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian). Updated daily with full-text content (1985 to present) and bibliographic content (1971 to present). - Digital Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)
Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 full text documents are available in PDF formats. - EBSCO DatabasesEBSCO is a company that provides access to a collection of databases, including Ageline, SocIndex, ERIC, etc. You may select one or more database you wish to include in your search.
- Gender Studies DatabaseHundreds of journals indexed/abstracted related to women’s studies, sexual diversity, men’s studies; links to full-text in ASP
- GreenFILE
focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. - JSTOR
Eight multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that includes archives of 1000+ leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. - LGBT Life
Index for world literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and trans-gender issues. At present there is a limited full-text component. - Medline4,600 biomedical journals indexed/abstracted, with links to full-text in Academic Search Premier.
- PAIS International- Public Affairs Information Service
Government documents, books and 951 journals indexed/abstracted in the fields of politics, economics and social & public policy issues with some full-text links. - Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is a full-text journal archive covering close to 500 titles in the humanities and the social sciences with an emphasis on access to the backfiles of key academic journals. - Project Muse
Over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. - PubMedOver 15 million citations for biomedical articles going back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- PubMed Central CanadaPMC Canada offers free access to full-text, peer reviewed health (including nutrition) and life sciences research publications.
- SAGE Journals OnlinePeer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning
- Science Direct1800 full-text multi-disciplinary journals.
- Springer LINKArticles from 1,692 full-text science journals as well as access to many titles in the Springer E-Book collection. Access to Springer E-Books is also available via the link to MyiLibrary.
- Taylor & Francis : Social Sciences and Humanities Collection
A collection of 662 electronic journals in the humanities and social sciences. - Wiley Online Library
1,229 full-text multi-disciplinary journals.
Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |







Loading...
