Guides: Primary Sources: Women

Literature

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
From the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, focuses on the writers who founded the African American women's literary tradition.

Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
A full-text project devoted to early modern women's writing and includes the Renaissance Women Online database.
Celebration of Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Novels, poems, letters, biographies, travel books, religious commentaries, histories, and economic and scientific works.
Victorian Women Writer's Project This link opens in a new window
Indiana University Libraries project to digitize works by British women writers of the 19th century.

Primary source books on Women

Many primary sources are available as collections in books found using the Novanet Libraries Search
For example, you can do a SUBJECT KEYWORD search on WOMEN DIARIES to locate diaries written by women.

Ideas for subject keyword searches include:

Nova Scotia diaries (also try other locations or provinces)
Nova Scotia correspondence
women diaries
Acadians diaries
person's name diaries

Posters

Feminist Poster Project This link opens in a new window
The Feminist Poster Project wishes to support feminist poster making by offering a space where feminist posters are collected and archived. All posters on this website are available for downloading in pdf and can be printed easily.
Guerrilla Girls Posters This link opens in a new window
CWLU Herstory Project: Art & Culture This link opens in a new window

North American Women

These sites are subscription based and require your Mount login.

Gerritsen Collection of Women's History (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000 (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 currently includes 65 document projects with 1,800 documents, and more than 23,000 pages of additional full-text documents. It includes as well book, film and website reviews and teaching tools.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (CRKN - Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
The immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO (CRKN - Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains digitized texts of over 183,000 titles published during the 18th Century.
North American Women's Drama (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
This edition of North American Women's Drama contains 1021 plays by 247 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

American Women

Women Working, 1800-1930 This link opens in a new window
500,000 digitized pages and images including manuscripts, pamphlets and photographs.
Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement - Duke Special Collection This link opens in a new window
Manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s.
American Women's History Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Digital Collections of Primary Sources.
Civil War Women This link opens in a new window
Diaries, letters, other documents, prints and photographs.
Discovering American Women's History Online This link opens in a new window
Gateway to 405 digital collections of primary sources - photos, letters, diaries, artifacts etc. - documenting women in U.S. history.

European Women

These sites are subscription based and require your Novel login.

Defining Gender 1450-1910 (CRKN - Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary source documents on gender relations in England from the late Middle Ages to the early twentieth century.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
This edition of British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Past Masters (CRKN - Intelex ) This link opens in a new window
A collection of 117 full-text databases of the writings of leading scholars and creative writers of the past. Particularly strong for women's writings from the 18th century to the early 20th century.

Novanet LiveHelp

LiveHelp is a chat-based research help service operated by local library staff.

About Novanet Live Help