Guides: Public Relations: Books, Theses & More

Collections of Publications

Canadian Social Trends
Maintained by the Government of Canada's Depository Services Program this resource contains articles written by Statistics Canada researchers on social situations in Canada.

Conference Board of Canada's e-Library This link opens in a new window
Conference Board of Canada’s publications library. It contains all of the Conference Board's periodical publications, research reports, economic studies as well as special reports and presentations by Conference Board staff dating back to 1998.

Current Awareness Services

Public Relations Bibliography
A comprehensive annual bibliography of journal articles and other sources arranged by topic. It is published as an issue of Public Relations Review. In print from 1964 to 2002 (Ref. Z 7164 P957 P9) and online via ScienceDirect to the present.

E-books and other online collections

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
An international collection of musical and aural traditions.

Theses & Dissertations

Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new window
Full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations that were published since 1998.
MSVU e-Commons: MSVU Graduate Theses This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of graduate theses produced at MSVU since 2006. Includes theses from Education, Family Studies & Gerontology, Applied Human Nutrition, Women and Gender studies, Child and Youth Study, and Public Relations.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
An index providing access to over 1 million full-text open access graduate theses and dissertations from institutions in Canada, United States, and all over the world.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations. For students and researchers, the Union Catalog makes individual collections of NDLTD member institutions and consortia appear as one seamless digital library of ETDs.
EThOS ( Electronic Theses Online Service) This link opens in a new window
The aim of the Electronic Theses Online Service (EThOS) is to maximise the availability and visibility of UK doctoral theses via a single web interface. It does this by providing both high quality metadata and, where possible, access to the full text either by downloading a PDF directly from EThOS or by following a link to the institutional repository.

Subject Databases
Many of our subject databases (including ERIC, PsycInfo, Ageline, MLA, SocIndex, Historical Abstracts/America: History & Life, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, Gender Studies) provide indexing of select dissertations.

Degree-granting institution
Check the home institution for an online repository/archive. More and more theses and dissertations are being made available in open access format.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An academic search engine