Communication Studies

The Encyclopedia of Communication Theory provides students and researchers with a comprehensive two-volume overview of contemporary communication theory. Reference librarians report that students frequently approach them seeking a source that will provide them with a quick overview of a particular theory or theorist - just enough to help them grasp the general concept or theory and its relation to the discipline as a whole. Communication scholars and teachers also occasionally need a quick reference for theories. Edited by the co-authors of the best-selling textbook on communication theory and drawing on the expertise of an advisory board of 10 international scholars and nearly 200 contributors from 10 countries, this work finally provides such a resource. More than 300 entries address topics related not only to paradigms, traditions, and schools, but also metatheory, methodology, inquiry, and applications and contexts. Entries cover several orientations, including psycho-cognitive; social-interactional; cybernetic and systems; cultural; critical; feminist; philosophical; rhetorical; semiotic, linguistic, and discursive; and non-Western. Concepts relate to interpersonal communication, groups and organizations, and media and mass communication. In sum, this encyclopedia offers the student of communication a sense of the history, development, and current status of the discipline, with an emphasis on the theories that comprise it.

Political communication began with the earliest studies of democratic discourse by Aristotle and Plato. However, modern political communication relies on an interdisciplinary base which draws on concepts from communication, political science, journalism, sociology, psychology, history, rhetoric, and others. This two volume resource considers political communication from this broad interdisciplinary perspective, encompassing the many different roles that communication plays in political processes in the United States and around the world. The Encyclopedia of Political Communication discusses the major theoretical approaches to the field, including direct and limited effects theories, agenda-setting theories, sociological theories, framing and priming theories, and other past and present conceptualizations. Considerable attention is devoted to major sources of political communication and to important political messages such as political speeches, televised political advertising, political posters and print advertising, televised political debates, and Internet sites. The audiences for political communications are also central, necessitating concentration on citizen reactions to political messages, how the general public and voters in democratic systems respond to political messages and the effects of all types of media and message types. Key Features - Encompasses several channels of political communication including interpersonal and public communication, radio, television, newspapers, and the World Wide Web, ensuring up-to-date and relevant content for teaching, research and learning - Includes news media coverage and journalistic analysis of politics, political issues, political figures and political institutions to provide a fully rounded view of alternatives perspectives - Considers the role of communication in governing, incorporating communication activities that influence the operation of executive, legislative, and judicial bodies, political parties, interest groups, political action committees and other participants in political processes to enhance understanding of the issues in a wide range of political groups. The Encyclopedia of Political Communication is designed for libraries, undergraduates, and members of the public with an interest in political affairs. Media and political professionals, as well as government officials, lobbyists, and participants in independent political organizations, will find these volumes useful in developing a better understanding of how the media and communication function in political settings. Key Themes " Biographies " Books, Films, Journals, Television " Democracy, Democratization " Education and Non-Profit Organizations " Elections " Government Operations and Institutions " Legal and Regulatory " Media Events " Media Outlets and Programmes " Role of Media in Political Systems " News Media Coverage of Politics, Political Affairs " Theoretical Approaches " Types of Political Media " Political Attitudes " Political Campaigns " Political Events " Political Groups and Organizations " Political Issues " Political Journalism " Theoretical Concepts " Women in Politics