Guides: Book Reviews: Book Review Sources

Databases with Book Reviews

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracting for over 4,000 full-text journal articles in a wide range of disciplines.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for Canadian history topics: 2000 Canadian/US history journals indexed/abstracted (links to full-text).
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
8,060 journals indexed/abstracted of which 7,608 are full text and 1,112 are full text and peer-reviewed. Full text is also provided for industry and market research reports including SWOT analysis.
CBCA Complete (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canadian content. To limit to book reviews select Document type (left column) and select Review.
Children's Literature Review (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Excerpts from reviews, criticism, and commentary on books for children and young people.
Select Children's Literature Review from the list of series
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
2000 world history journals indexed/abstracted with links to full-text.
JSTOR (CRKN) This link opens in a new window
A collection of 1,083 of the the most important academic journals in the Arts & Sciences, the Biological Sciences, and the Life Sciences. In most instances the volume run is complete back to the first issue. An important source of full-text for older articles and book reviews.

Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews
A dozen or two book reviews every month since January, 2002. Reviews are 1500-2000 words in length.

APA PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
2000 international psychology journals, books, chapters, dissertations indexed/abstracted, links to full-text in Academic Search Premier & PsychArticles.
SocINDEX (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX offers comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study. There are 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,390 "selective" coverage journals; links to full-text in Academic Search Premier.