Open Educational Resources

Lists open textbooks in a number of subject areas. It also includes a directory of other open textbook sites and a guide to using open textbooks

A database of interactive tutorials, quizzes, timelines, and simulations that can be downloaded and integrated into Moodle.

A discovery service that points to Open Access books that can be found elsewhere. It enables you to search the description of the books and to download the books from the publisher's site.

This repository offers a curated collection of textbooks, many of which have been reviewed and vetted by educators across Canada.

Knowledge Unlatched makes scholarly content freely available to everyone by transitioning monographs and journals in a wide variety of disciplines from paywalled to Open Access content.

George Mason University Libraries, in conjunction with Deep Web Technologies, has created an OER Metafinder that searches across several open repositories.

SUNY (State Universities of New York) has developed a search tool that currently searches content from many OER different sources

A digital public library and collaboration platform that contains high-quality OERs for all levels of education.

The OAPEN Library hosts and disseminates OA peer-reviewed academic books mainly in the areas of the humanities and social sciences.

A not-for-profit Social Enterprise run by academics, Open Book Publishers is the largest independent open access academic publisher of monographs in the UK.

Educational materials organized in small modules and freely available to be customized as you wish. An initiative of Rice University.

The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. Supported by the Open Textbook Network.

A global directory of thousands of Open Textbooks published using the Pressbooks platform.

This book provides an updated look at issues that comprise the online learning experience creation process. As online learning evolves, the lines and distinctions between various classifications of courses has blurred and often vanished. Classic elements of instructional design remain relevant at the same time that newer concepts of learning experience are growing in importance. However, problematic issues new and old still have to be addressed. This handbook explores many of these topics for new and experienced designers alike, whether creating traditional online courses, open learning experiences, or anything in between.

Methodology can be one of the most challenging aspects for doctoral researchers. When we conduct research into education and/or technology, we can be confronted with a potentially confusing array of options. This is true even for those using a well-established approach, but can be especially acute if combining approaches in a mixed-methods study or trying to develop a completely new way of doing research. Choosing the right method for what we are interested in is a key part of high quality research, and this requires us to think about the scientific and philosophical foundations of what we do.

This textbook tells the story of community psychologists, who view social problems as being due to the unequal distribution of resources, which causes poverty, homelessness, unemployment, and crime. In addition, because no condition or disease has ever been eliminated by just dealing with those with the problem, community psychologists focus their work on prevention. Finally, community psychology shifts the power dynamics so that community members are equal members of the team, as they provide unique points of view about barriers that need to be overcome in working toward social justice. In a sense, this field has many similarities with community organizing, but it’s different in that community psychologists have both research and action skills to evaluate whether or not our interventions actually work. This textbook will show students how to comprehensively analyze, investigate, and address escalating problems of economic inequality, violence, substance abuse, homelessness, poverty, and racism. It will provide students with perspectives and tools to partner with community members and organizations to promote a fair and equitable allocation of resources and opportunities.

Source description: "Since Indigenous peoples have developed time-proven approaches to sustaining both community and environment, Elders and young people are concerned that this rich legacy of Indigenous Science with its wealth of environmental knowledge and the wisdom of previous generations could disappear if it is not respected, studied and understood by today's children and youth. A perspective where relationships between home place and all other beings that inhabit the earth is vitally important to all residents—both inheritors of ancient Indigenous Knowledge and wisdom, and newcomers who can experience the engagement, joy and promise of science instilled with a sense of place. This book takes a step forward toward preserving and actively using the knowledge, stories, and lessons for today and future generations, and with it a worldview that informs everyday attitudes toward the earth. Knowing Home: Braiding Indigenous Science with Western Science is far more than a set of research papers or curriculum studies. The project outputs include both, but they are incorporated into a theoretical structure that can provide the methodological basis for future efforts that attempt to develop culturally responsive Indigenous Science curricula in home places. It is not just one or two angels to organize, but multiple interwoven approaches and cases that give this project its exceptional importance. Thus, the project outputs have been organized into two books. Book 1 provides an overview of why traditional knowledge and wisdom should be included in the science curriculum, a window into the science and technologies of the Indigenous peoples who live in Northwestern North America, Indigenous worldview, culturally responsive teaching strategies and curriculum models, and evaluative techniques. It is intended that the rich examples and cases, combined with the resources listed in the appendices, will enable teachers and students to explore Indigenous Science examples in the classroom; and in addition, support the development of culturally appropriate curriculum projects."

Open pedagogy, also known as open educational practices (OEP), are pedagogical strategies that use the affordances of open licences to get students involved in creative activities that often contribute back to the course materials - or have other real-world applications. David Wiley is credited with coining the term "open pedagogy" and contrasts this type of assignment with "disposable assignments" that have no value once a grade is assigned. Examples include students demonstrate mastery of weekly learning objectives by writing quiz questions that are added to the test bank for next term or students create or revise open educational resources (OER) for their course.

The book examines the underlying principles that guide effective teaching in an age when all of us, and in particular the students we are teaching, are using technology. A framework for making decisions about your teaching is provided, while understanding that every subject is different, and every instructor has something unique and special to bring to their teaching. The book enables teachers and instructors to help students develop the knowledge and skills they will need in a digital age: not so much the IT skills, but the thinking and attitudes to learning that will bring them success.

This book intends to deepen the knowledge of the extended and uncertain transitions from school to work and to higher education by analysing the perspectives of youths and young adults and by addressing policies and institutional practices. The book critically examines the ‘transition machinery’ consisting of various education and training measures, projects and schemes, provided by educational institutions, the EU, ministries, municipalities and non-governmental organisations. Treating lack of education and unemployment mainly as individual problems, personal deficiencies or identity issues, the solutions are likewise individualised. The book illustrates how youth transitions are intertwined with social structures, power relations and differences.

Source description: "This Open Access Educational textbook, "Teaching Early and Elementary STEM", was written to support pre-service early childhood and elementary teachers in their journey to become facilitators of science, technology, engineering, and math, or “STEM,” and "integrated STEM" in their future classrooms. Students who read and use this text will deepen their understanding of “STEM” and “integrated STEM,” learn what early childhood and elementary students need to know and be able to do in relation to STEM, and understand ways to create activity plans and implement current research-based approaches to teaching and pedagogy. This text arose out of our Early/Elementary STEM Collaboration project, which started in 2017 with the intention of increasing the quality of teacher preparation in STEM across early childhood and elementary education. The team is composed of math and science education professors, classroom in-service teachers, and pre-service teachers in pre-school through fifth grade. We are driven by the values of collaboration, strengths-based approaches to teaching and learning, constructivist philosophy of teaching and learning, and applied STEM experiences to increase access and equity. Our model of preparing pre-service teachers has been published elsewhere in more detail (Robertson, Nivens, & Lange, 2019). We built this open access product to include the following: 1) completely new content that includes input from our team as well as examples of integrated STEM learning experiences; 2) adaptations of existing resources, and; 3) compilations of existing free resources (e.g., Next Generation Science Standards)."

Source description: "This book is designed for pre-service/in-service teachers and others who will work or work with K–12 students who have linguistically and culturally diverse backgrounds, especially students of other languages (English language learners/Emergent bilingual/multilingual). The core concept of this course is helping teachers understand the needs of various Emergent Bilinguals (a.k.a. English language learners (ELLs)/English Learners (ELs), learn to use their language and culture as a resource in mathematics classrooms and implement research-based instructional strategies that are effective to teach mathematics for Emergent Bilinguals."