COVID 19 | Temporary Access to Scholarly Resources

General Resources

The following resources are temporarily accessible. Please note each publisher and/or collection will have its own specific date when access will be removed. For permanently open education resources, see the Open Educational Resources guide, and for open publishing, see the Open Access guide.

HeinOnline: Legal research database with Canadian content. The trial lasts until December 12, 2020. https://libguides.msvu.ca/hein
 

Project MUSE: free access to books and journals from over 50 publishers. Note that content that is freely available on the Project MUSE platform during the COVID-19 crisis will display a distinctive “Free” icon, different from the “OA” icon used for fully open access content. Search here.

RedShelf Responds:  In collaboration with the academic publishing community, RedShelf is providing students with convenient access to five (5) titles until May 25, 2020. Students need to create a free log-in to access. https://studentresponse.redshelf.com/ 

  • Includes the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - 7th Ed

VitalSource Bookshelf: offering free access to a catalogue of ebooks through April 30, 2020. Note that an account (free to create) is required to search the ebook catalogue. Search here.

Teaching Resources

MLA Digital Pedagogy in the HumanitiesA peer-reviewed, scholarly collection of pedagogical artifacts.

Oxford University Press Ancillary Resource Center: teaching and learning resources for both instructors and students. Note that an account (free to create) is required to access content.

Digital Collections

British History Online: a collection of primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland (1300 - 1800).

Internet Archive National Emergency Librarya collection of 1.4 million digitized books (predominately 1920 - 2000). Note that an account (free to create) is required to access content.

Writing Resources

Writer's Reference Center

Writer’s Reference Center provides users with a convenient one-stop location for all of the tools necessary to write and research effectively. From the mechanics of writing and grammar to style and research, this indispensable online resource thoroughly covers the fundamentals of quality writing, provides a wealth of vocabulary-building dictionaries, and presents a step-by-step guide to writing a good essay.

Trial Ends: 4/30/2020
User Name: distancelearning
Password: trial

Writer's Reference Center: http://online.infobaselearning.com/Direct.aspx


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.