Guides: Videos, Images & Music: Finding & Screening Videos

Streaming Videos & Movies

Mount Library Subscriptions

Audio Cine Films This link opens in a new window
Streaming video from Audio Cine Films film distributors in Canada. Watch new releases, documentaries, comedies, action/adventure, and more!
Desktop Access: You must use the browsers Firefox or Chrome to access this resource.
Mobile Access: Audio Cine films can be viewed on Apple and Android devices using the Swank Media Player app. First, install the Swank Media Player app on your device. Second, select an Audio Cine film in your browser. When you play the film it will automatically open in the Swank Media Player app.
Criterion-on-Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 2000 classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features from feature film producers, as well as a smaller number of independent producers.
Curio This link opens in a new window
Curio is CBC and Radio-Canada’s online subscriber-based streaming service. You'll find documentaries from television and radio, news reports and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is an online video library offering thousands of titles. The Mount Library subscribes to the Master Academic Collection which offers content across a variety of disciplines. Film clips and playlists are available.
Theatre in Video (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Video performances of plays and video documentaries from Shakespeare to the present.
MSVU Library Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
Videos licensed for viewing by MSVU faculty, staff and students.

Other Streaming Collections

BBC Video Nation Archive
Video archive of the BBC

British Pathé This link opens in a new window
With a unique combination of information and entertainment, all 85,000 documentaries, newsreels, serials and films are searchable and viewable on YouTube. British Pathé also represents the Reuters historical collection, which includes more than 136,000 items from the news agencies Gaumont Graphic (1910-1932), Empire News Bulletin (1926-1930), British Paramount (1931-1957), and Gaumont British (1934-1959), as well as Visnews content from 1957 to the end of 1984

C-Span Video Archive
The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses, includes Canadian Parliamentary Question periods, budget speeches, House of Commons debates.
CBC.ca Archives
Video archive of the CBC
CBC.ca Video Player
Video player of the CBC - watch news, sports, tv shows and more.
Documentary Storm
Documentary Storm is dedicated to finding you free, full-length documentaries chosen from around the web. The main goal of this website is to share knowledge, spread ideas, and have fun.
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Internet Archive's Moving Images library of free movies, films, and videos contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Internet Archive: The Prelinger Archive
The goal of the archives is to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere. Over 2,000 films including classics like"Duck and Cover".
MIT Video
With over 150 channels, MIT Video, includes feature and editorial videos, event recordings, academic content and more.
Museum of Broadcast Communications
Museum.TV is happy to provide free access to over 8,500 hours of digitized radio and television content — and thousands of photos.
National Screening Room (U.S. Library of Congress)
The National Screening Room is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center. The goal of this digital collection is to present to the widest audience possible movies from the LOCs extensive holdings. They are historical documents which reflect the attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of different times
Netflix
Some Netflix Original educational documentaries are available for one-time educational screenings (in the online context this means sharing your screen during a synchronous class meeting).
To find out which titles are available for educational screenings, search for the video title and check the details page for the following text: GRANT OF PERMISSION FOR EDUCATIONAL SCREENINGS
Nova Scotia Public Archives YouTube Channel
Film holdings from Nova Scotia Archives & Records Management, in Halifax, NS, Canada.
The Open Video Project
The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.
TED Talks
1100+ talks to stir your curiosity.
TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design.
UCLA Film and Television Archive
A unique resource for media studies, the archive houses one of the most extensive film collections in the world.

Online Video Sites for Teaching

Khan Academy

Khan Academy is well known for its collection of more than 1800 instructional math, science, history, and economics videos. Khan Academy also offers self-paced mathematics lessons

Socratic

Students can ask questions, do practice problems, and watch videos (from Khan Academy and other sources) for free.

Teacher Tube

Teacher Tube is an online community for sharing instructional videos.

Ted-Ed Lessons

Ted-Ed pair extraordinary educators with talented animators to produce a new library of exceptional educational videos.

YouTube in the Classroom

"YouTube EDU is a sub-section of YouTube that contains high-quality educational content." Selected material from YouTube that is cleared for educational use.

"YouTube for Schools is a network setting that, when implemented, allows your school to access the educational content on YouTube EDU while limiting access to non-educational content on YouTube.com." This places the selected material from EDU on your school's local server, particularly relavant to grade schools which often block YouTube.

"YouTube.com/Teachers is a how-to site that shows you how to use YouTube in the classroom."

(quoted content from: http://support.google.com/youtube/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=1657123)

Want to stream a film at your event?

MSVU has public performance licenses that allow you to stream content at your events, even if it's not for an educational purpose. Audiences must not be charged admission to see the film. Check for studios represented and covered by license for Audio-Cine and Criterion.

You can also check the Novanet Library Search for videos owned by MSVU, as they often have performance rights purchased at the time of their acquisition by the Library.

If you would like to show a video on campus but you're not sure what to do, please contact copyright@msvu.ca for more information.

Videos, Images & Music

Contact the Library