MSVU logo

Find Resources
Library Services
About the Library
Archives

Canadian Children’s Literature

A guide to locating information and research resources about Canadian literature for children and youth.

Quick Search of the CCBC

To quickly find a book in the MSVU Canadian Children's Book Collection . . .

 

About the Canadian Children's Book Centre Collection (CCBC)

CCBC Logo

 

The Canadian Children's Book Centre (CCBC) is a national, not-for-profit organization, founded in 1976. The Centre is dedicated to encouraging, promoting and supporting the reading, writing, illustrating and publishing of Canadian books for young readers. Its library collection includes every Canadian children's book published since 1976, including children's and young adult picture books, fiction, non-fiction and multimedia.

The CCBC maintains mirror collections of Canadian children's books in each region of the country, and the MSVU Library is the Atlantic regional deposit for this collection. There are well over 6,000 books in the collection from Canadian publishers (with our collection dating from the early 1990's). 

The books are shelved on the Lower Level of the library, arranged in alphabetical order by author.

You can access the titles in the CCBC Collection by searching the Novanet catalogue (and limiting your results to the MSVU Canadian Children's Book Collection). However, according to the terms of the deposit, the books cannot circulate. We make some exceptions for Faculty, Graduate and Thesis students conducting research, and for special class projects; please inquire with Access Services staff.

More information can be found at the CCBC website.

Related Subject Guides

Acknowledgement

The staff of the Library at Mount Saint Vincent University wish to acknowledge and thank Jo-Anne Naslund and the Education Library at the University of British Columbia for their kind permission to use their Canadian Children's Literature guide as a template and/or inspiration for this Mount Library guide.


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.