Guides: Child & Youth Study: Articles & Journals

Frequently Used Article Databases

Child Development & Adolescent Studies (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of journals indexed/abstracted related to the growth and development of children, links to full-text in ASP
Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.
Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies This link opens in a new window
This database contains over 750 exclusive, peer-reviewed articles that approach education and childhood from a comparative and global perspective.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
8000 journals indexed/abstracted (4600 full-text) in various disciplines
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database provides comprehensive coverage of the research literature in the field of education. It includes journal articles as well as books, reports, and other documents.
APA PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
2000 international psychology journals, books, chapters, dissertations indexed/abstracted, links to full-text in ASP & PsychArticles.

CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus provides coverage for thousands of journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including nutrition. It covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and dozens of allied health disciplines.
Gender Studies Database (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of journals indexed/abstracted related to women’s studies, sexual diversity, men’s studies.
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Formerly called LGBT Life. Index for world literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. At present there is a limited full-text component.
Medline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
4,600 biomedical journals indexed/abstracted.
SocINDEX (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Sociology research database. 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,390 "selective" coverage journals

Citation indexes allow you to find articles which have cited other works. You can think of it as a reference list in reverse.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
The “Cited by” feature allows you to see details of later articles that have cited the article whose citation appear in the results list of a search Google Scholar provides citations (publication details) of books, conference proceedings, journal articles and theses from a variety of scholarly publishers, societies and organisations.

The Encyclopedia of Child and Adolescent Development by Stephen Hupp (Editor-In-Chief); Jeremy D. Jewell (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9781119171492
Publication Date: 2020-01-21
The authoritative, multi-volume reference work on child and adolescent development and psychology The Encyclopedia of Child and Adolescent Development presents the major theories, key concepts, disorders, and evidence-based practices of the field. Covering infancy through adolescence and emerging adulthood, this important work outlines major areas of research and examines specific topics, ongoing controversies, and current work being done by leaders in the field.