MSVU logo

Find Resources
Library Services
About the Library
Archives

Chemistry and Physics

This is a resource for research in the Chemistry and Physics fields of study.

ACS Style Guide

Articles

Generic

Author 1; Author 2; Author 3; etc. Title of Article. Journal Abbreviation Year, Volume, Inclusive Pagination.

Author 1; Author 2; Author 3; etc. Title of Article. Journal Abbreviation [Online] Year, Volume, Article Number or other identifying information. Database  Provider. URL of top page (accessed Month Day, Year).

Print

Sobus, J. R.; DeWoskin, R. S.; Tan, Y.; Pleil, J. D.; Phillips, M. B.; George, B. J.; Christensen, K.; Schreinemachers, D. M.; Williams, M. A.; Hubal, E. C.; Edwards, S. W. Uses Of NHANES Biomarker Data For Chemical Risk Assessment: Trends, Challenges, And Opportunities. Environ Health Perspect 2015, 123, 919-927.

Published only electronically

Pratt, D. A.; van der Donk, W. A. Rethinking Undergraduate Physical Chemistry Curricula. J. Chem. Educ. [Online] 2016. DOI: 10.1021/acs.jchemed.5b00945. http://pubs.acs.org/doi/abs/10.1021/acs.jchemed.5b00945 (accessed Sep. 9, 2016).

Retrieved from Database

Hallet, V. Scanning the Globe for Organic Chemistry. U.S. News and World Report [Online], April 19, 2004, p 59. Business Source Premier. http://www.epnet.com/academic/ bussourceprem.asp (accessed April 24, 2005).

Books & eBooks

Book

Generic

Author 1; Author 2; Author 3; etc. Book Title; Series Information (if any); Publisher: Place of Publication, Year; Volume Number.

Example

Klapötke, T. Chemistry of high-energy materials. De Gruyter: New York, 2011.

eBook

Generic

Author 1; Author 2; Author 3; etc. Book Title [Online]; Series Information (if any); Publisher: Place of Publication, Year; Volume Number. URL of top page (accessed Month Day, Year).

Example

Klapötke, T. Chemistry of high-energy materials [Online]; De Gruyter: New York, 2011. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=388124&site=ehost-live&scope=site (accessed Sept. 9, 2016).

Chapter in a Book

Generic

Author 1; Author 2; Author 3; etc. Chapter Title. Book Title, Edition Number; Series Information (if any); Publisher: Place of Publication, Year; Volume Number, Pagination.

Example

Figala, K. Newton's Alchemy. In The Cambridge Companion to Newton;  Cohen, I. B. and Smith, G. E., Ed.; Cambridge University Press: Cambridge, 2004; 370-386.

Klapötke, T. Experimental Characterization of Explosives. In Chemistry of high-energy materials [Online]; De Gruyter: New York, 2011; 103-115. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=388124&site=ehost-live&scope=site (accessed Sept. 9, 2016).

 

Online Sources

Stand Alone Webpage

Generic

Author (if any). Title of Site. URL (accessed Month Day, Year), other identifying information (if any).

Example

Royal Society of Chemistry. Periodic Table: Calcium. http://www.rsc.org/periodic-table/element/20/calcium (accessed Sept. 1, 2016).

Antoine-Laurent Lavoisier. https://www.chemheritage.org/historical-profile/antoine-laurent-lavoisier (accessed Sept. 12, 2016).

Documents Retrieved From Institutional or Agency Web Sites

Generic

Author 1; Author 2; Author 3; etc. Title of Document, Year. Title of Site. URL (accessed Month Day, Year).

Example

Office of the Auditor General. Chemicals in consumer products and cosmetics, 2016.  Government of Canada, Office of the Auditor General. http://www.oag-bvg.gc.ca/internet/English/parl_cesd_201605_03_e_41382.html (accessed Sept. 9, 2016).

RefWorks

RefWorks permits you to create a personal database and to manage all your research.  RefWorks allows you to import references from MSVU online article databases, and to enter the selected records into your RefWorks database.  When writing papers, you are able to choose from the various citation styles, and RefWorks will automatically format a bibliography based on the references in your database.


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.