Guides: Chemistry &amp; Physics: Articles & Journals

SciFinder Scholar

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts Service) REGISTERED Users This link opens in a new window
If you have not registered as a valid MSVU user, please register using SciFinder Scholar Registration page: http://ezproxy.msvu.ca/login?url=https://origin-scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=BCDDBBD3-86F3-5055-2BEE-88F2C18D7E1B

SciFinder Scholar Registration page
ACS requires you to set up an account with them. Respond to the e-mail that will be sent to you confirming your new account, then login from the Registered User link. Note that if you are off campus, you will first have to login using your MOUNT username and pw. Then once on the SciFinder web site login with your SciFinder username and pw.
SciFinder Scholar Mobile
Once you have an active account, visit this app using the web browser on your smartphone to seamlessly access an intuitive, mobile-friendly version of SciFinder.

American Chemical Society (CRKN) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 42 key chemistry journals.

Institute of Physics Journals Online
Full-text access to 66 key physics journals.

Royal Society of Chemistry Journals (CRKN) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 32 key chemistry journals and 6 databases on catalysts, chemical hazards, natural products, organic syntheses etc.
Science Direct (CRKN - Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
A collection of 2,395 full-text multi-disciplinary journals.
Wiley Online Library (CRKN) This link opens in a new window
A collection of 1,217 full-text multi-disciplinary journals.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracting and over 4,000 full-text journal articles in many disciplines. Includes important chemistry journals e.g. International Reviews in Physical Chemistry, Journal of Chemical Physics, Journal of Coordination Chemistry etc.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
National Research Council Journals This link opens in a new window
15 full-text journals published by the Canadian National Research Council.
Agricola (National Agricultural Library) This link opens in a new window
Open access index to resources in the field of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of articles from over 5,100 scholarly and scientific open access journals of which 82 are in the field of Chemistry.

Journal of Chemical Education
American Chemical Society provides online access to all volumes from 1924 to the current year for MSVU as a subscribing institution.
Nature : International Weekly Journal of Science
All articles published in recent years to the latest available issue may be read online. Back issues of Nature are available via our A-Z Journal Titles.

Citation indexes allow you to find articles which have cited other works. You can think of it as a reference list in reverse.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
The “Cited by” feature allows you to see details of later articles that have cited the article whose citation appear in the results list of a search Google Scholar provides citations (publication details) of books, conference proceedings, journal articles and theses from a variety of scholarly publishers, societies and organisations.