Guides: Biology: Articles & Journals

Frequently Used Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracting for over 4,000 full-text journal articles in a wide range of disciplines.
Agricola (National Agricultural Library) This link opens in a new window
Open access index to resources in the field of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
Medline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A sub-set of PubMed; 4,600 biomedical journals indexed/abstracted, with links to full-text in Academic Search Premier.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Over 15 million citations from MEDLINE and the biomedical and life sciences literature dating back to the 1950's. PubMed includes links to some sites providing full text.
In May 2020 PubMed changed its interface. The Welch Medical Library video reviews the changes and provides a great introduction to searching the database.
Science Direct (CRKN - Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
A collection of 2,395 full-text multi-disciplinary journals.

Frequently Used Journal Collections

Nature : International Weekly Journal of Science
All articles published in recent years to the latest available issue may be read online. Back issues of Nature are available via our A-Z Journal Titles.

National Research Council Journals This link opens in a new window
15 full-text journals published by the Canadian National Research Council. Access is provided to articles published from 1951 to the end of 2010.
JSTOR (CRKN) This link opens in a new window
A collection of 1,083 of the the most important academic journals in the Arts & Sciences, the Biological Sciences, and the Life Sciences. In most instances the volume run is complete back to the first issue. An important source of full-text for older articles and book reviews.
Wiley Online Library (CRKN) This link opens in a new window
A collection of 1,217 full-text multi-disciplinary journals.

Collections of Publications

Bioline International This link opens in a new window
Online database that provides access to peer-reviewed journals in the Biosciences from Brazil, China, India, Iran, Nigeria, Venezuela and other countries.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
A library of 11,610 scholarly and scientific open access journals (as of April 2016) and over 2 million articles and research papers from a wide range of academic fields.
PLoS ONE This link opens in a new window
A large collection of open access articles in the sciences: Maths, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Nutrition, Mental and Physical Health.

Search all EBSCO databases

Search all ProQuest databases

Google Scholar

Citation Indexes

Citation indexes allow you to find articles which have cited other works. You can think of it as a reference list in reverse.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An academic search engine

Where's the full text?

If you are unsure whether an article is available in full text or not, please click on the 'Check for full text . . .' link closest to the citation to check if the full text is available at MSVU. The 'Check for full text . . .' link will check to see if the article is available in another database, or to see if the library has a copy of the article in print. If the article is not available at MSVU please look at our document delivery options.

Subject Librarian

Sandra Sawchuk

Subjects: Applied Human Nutrition, Biology, Chemistry & Physics, Government Information & Data, Mathematics