Open Educational Resources
Open educational resources (OER) are free, openly licensed educational resources, including textbooks, videos, tutorials, and more. Users of OER are permitted to use, adapt, and redistribute the material with minimal restrictions based on Creative Commons licensing. See below for specific examples of OERs suitable for the study of Applied Human Nutrition.
Search for OER
There are many OER repositories to search from; a curated list of the most prominent databases is below.
BC Campus Open Textbook Library
Lists open textbooks in a number of subject areas. It also includes a directory of other open textbook sites and a guide to using open textbooks
Catalogue of H5P Content
A database of interactive tutorials, quizzes, timelines, and simulations that can be downloaded and integrated into Moodle.
cCampusOntario Open Textbook Library
This repository offers a curated collection of textbooks, many of which have been reviewed and vetted by educators across Canada.
Directory of Open Access Books
A discovery service that points to Open Access books that can be found elsewhere. It enables you to search the description of the books and to download the books from the publisher's site.
Knowledge Unlatched makes scholarly content freely available to everyone by transitioning monographs and journals in a wide variety of disciplines from paywalled to Open Access content.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
George Mason University Libraries, in conjunction with Deep Web Technologies, has created an OER Metafinder that searches across several open repositories
A digital public library and collaboration platform that contains high-quality OERs for all levels of education.
Open Access for European Networks (OAPEN)
The OAPEN Library hosts and disseminates OA peer-reviewed academic books mainly in the areas of the humanities and social sciences.
Open Book Publishers
A not-for-profit Social Enterprise run by academics, Open Book Publishers is the largest independent open access academic publisher of monographs in the UK.
Educational materials organized in small modules and freely available to be customized as you wish. An initiative of Rice University.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. Supported by the Open Textbook Network.
Open Textbooks for Applied Human Nutrition
Chemistry of Cooking
People around the world are fascinated about the preparation of food for eating. There are countless cooking books, TV shows, celebrity chefs and kitchen gadgets that make cooking an enjoyable activity for everyone. The chemistry of cooking course seeks to understand the science behind our most popular meals by studying the behavior of atoms and molecules present in food. This book is intended to give students a basic understanding of the chemistry involved in cooking such as caramelization, Maillard reaction, acid-base reactions, catalysis, and fermentation. Students will be able to use chemistry language to describe the process of cooking, apply chemistry knowledge to solve questions related to food, and ultimately create their own recipes.
Food Safety, Sanitation, and Personal Hygiene
Food Safety, Sanitation, and Personal Hygiene is one of a series of Culinary Arts open textbooks developed to support the training of students and apprentices in British Columbia's foodservice and hospitality industry. Although created with the Professional Cook, Baker and Meat-cutter programs in mind, these have been designed as a modular series, and therefore can be used to support a wide variety of programs that offer training in foodservice skills. Other books in the series include: Workplace Safety Employability Skills Kitchen Management Meat Cutting and Processing Human Resource Management Baking Ingredients, Nutrition and Labelling Pastry and Plated Dessert Techniques The series has been developed collaboratively with participation from public and private post-secondary institutions
This textbook serves as an introduction to nutrition for undergraduate students. The book covers basic concepts in human nutrition, key information about essential nutrients, basic nutritional assessment, and nutrition across the lifespan.
Interpreting Canada’s 2019 Food Guide and Food Labelling for Health Professionals
This textbook provides the novice learner with a foundational understanding of Canada’s 2019 Food Guide and Food Labelling. It highlights important considerations for future health professionals seeking to adopt the new food guide into their practice, including strategies towards healthy eating. This open textbook underscores a relational inquiry approach to inform discussions with clients about nutrition and healthy eating. This resource was created from the collaborative efforts of selected faculty and staff at eCampusOntario Member Institutions as part of the Nursing Open at Scale Program.
An Introduction to Nutrition
Welcome to Essentials of Nutrition: A Functional Approach! This book is written for students who are not majoring in nutrition, but want to learn about the fundamental aspects of nutrition and how it applies to their own lives. We have written this book with the assumption that you have little or no prior knowledge of college level chemistry, biology, or physiology. But that does not mean it’s not scientific! Nutrition is a science-based discipline, so all the material included is backed up by rigorous scientific research, but it is presented in a clear, easy-to-understand fashion without requiring a background in science.
Kansas State University Human Nutrition Flexbook
The Kansas State University Human Nutrition Flexbook is a textbook for students taking Kansas State University FNDH 400 course.FNDH 400 is a 3-hour, intermediate-level, human nutrition course at Kansas State University take primarily by sophomores and juniors because it has prerequisites of a college biology and chemistry courses.
This site was created to provide nutrition students with an accessible platform to read and review materials in their learning of nutrition science concepts. It provides links to pertinent course content in written, illustrative, and video formats on nutrient digestion, absorption and cellular metabolism concepts.
Open Courses for Applied Human Nutrition
Personal and Social Frameworks for Nutrition and Healthy Aging
Provides an overview of the impact of nutrition on aging and the impact of aging on nutrient needs. Examines food access, procurement, preparation, and enjoyment using a socio-ecological framework of health and wellness. Evaluates age-associated psycho-social, economic, and environmental influences on individual food security and institutional program delivery. Emphasizes nutrition and food for healthy aging.
OER Quick Links
Creative Commons Image Search
Allows you to search a variety of Creative Commons collections including Flickr, Wikimedia Commons, Google Images and Open Clip Art Library.
Creative Commons Licenses
An overview of various Creative Commons licenses available.
OER created at the Mount
Open Educational Resources created by Mount faculty.
This toolkit provides information and tools to help faculty to understand, engage with, and sustain OER in their work and practice.
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License.