Guides: Applied Human Nutrition: Articles & Journals

Science & Nutrition Databases

(Note: Also see Multidisciplinary Databases below.)

Agricola (National Agricultural Library)
Open access index to resources in the field of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
CINAHL Plus
CINAHL Plus provides coverage for thousands of journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including nutrition. It covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and dozens of allied health disciplines.
Medline (EBSCO)
A sub-set of PubMed; 4,600 biomedical journals indexed/abstracted, with links to full-text in Academic Search Premier.
PEN (Practice-Based Evidence in Nutrition)
PEN provides nutrition practitioners with ready access to timely, current and authoritative guidance on food and nutrition. It offers evidence-based answers to the questions encountered in every day practice. Five (5) simultaneous users only - please log out when done.
PubMed
Over 15 million citations from MEDLINE and the biomedical and life sciences literature dating back to the 1950's. PubMed includes links to some sites providing full text.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals (CRKN)
Full-text access to 47 key chemistry journals.
Science Direct (CRKN - Elsevier)
1800 full-text multi-disciplinary (but mostly science) journals published by Elsevier.

MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) database
MeSH is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles for PubMed. These are the standard terms to search on when available.
Search for journal title abbreviations
The National Library of Medicine's catalogue of journals included in PubMed databases.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Provides indexing, abstracting for over 4,000 full-text journal articles in a wide range of disciplines.
Ageline (EBSCO)
300 journals on gerontology indexed/abstracted
APA PsycINFO (EBSCO)
2000 international psychology journals, books, chapters, dissertations indexed/abstracted, links to full-text in ASP & PsychArticles. Useful for researching health and eating behaviours.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
8,060 journals indexed/abstracted of which 7,608 are full text and 1,112 are full text and peer-reviewed. Full text is also provided for industry and market research reports including SWOT analysis.
CBCA Complete (ProQuest)
With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,680 titles, CBCA Complete is ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and education as produced in Canada. Includes 640 full-text periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian). Updated daily with full-text content (1985 to present) and bibliographic content (1971 to present).
Child Development & Adolescent Studies (EBSCO)
Hundreds of journals indexed/abstracted related to the growth and development of children, links to full-text in ASP.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
A collection of articles from over 5,100 scholarly and scientific journals 25 of which are in the field of nutrition and food science.
Education Research Complete (EBSCO)
Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.
ERIC (EBSCO)
980 education journals and 2200 digests indexed/abstracted, links to full-text in ASP and ERIC Documents (EDRS). Useful for nutrition in schools and daycares.
Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases. Hundreds of journals indexed/abstracted related to women’s studies, sexual diversity, men’s studies; links to full-text in ASP.
Taylor & Francis: Social Sciences and Humanities Collection (CRKN)
A collection of 662 electronic journals in the humanities and social sciences, pubished by Taylor and Francis.