Guides: Women's &amp; Gender Studies: Books, Theses & More

Encyclopedias

The International Encyclopedia of Gender, Media, and Communication by Karen Ross (Editor-In-Chief); Ingrid Bachmann (Associate Editor); Valentina Cardo (Associate Editor); Sujata Moorti (Associate Editor); Cosimo Marco Scarcelli (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9781119429128
Publication Date: 2020-10-20
The first major reference work on gender and media--covering a broad range of gender-focused topics This resource explores how gender is represented in media, who produces the content, and the ways in which audiences receive and understand media messages.
Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories by Lorraine Code (Editor)
ISBN: 9780203195598
Publication Date: 2002-06-01
The Encyclopedia contains over 500 authoritative entries commissioned from an international team of contributors and includes clear, concise and provocative explanations of key themes and ideas.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women by Cheris Kramarae; Dale Spender
ISBN: 9780203800942
Publication Date: 2004-04-16
Featuring comprehensive global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory,

Theses & Dissertations

Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new window
Full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations that were published since 1998.
MSVU e-Commons: MSVU Graduate Theses This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of graduate theses produced at MSVU since 2006. Includes theses from Education, Family Studies & Gerontology, Applied Human Nutrition, Women and Gender studies, Child and Youth Study, and Public Relations.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
An index providing access to over 1 million full-text open access graduate theses and dissertations from institutions in Canada, United States, and all over the world.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations. For students and researchers, the Union Catalog makes individual collections of NDLTD member institutions and consortia appear as one seamless digital library of ETDs.
EThOS ( Electronic Theses Online Service) This link opens in a new window
The aim of the Electronic Theses Online Service (EThOS) is to maximise the availability and visibility of UK doctoral theses via a single web interface. It does this by providing both high quality metadata and, where possible, access to the full text either by downloading a PDF directly from EThOS or by following a link to the institutional repository.

Subject Databases
Many of our subject databases (including ERIC, PsycInfo, Ageline, MLA, SocIndex, Historical Abstracts/America: History & Life, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, Gender Studies) provide indexing of select dissertations.

Degree-granting institution
Check the home institution for an online repository/archive. More and more theses and dissertations are being made available in open access format.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An academic search engine

Mount Library Ebook Collections

With your Mount credentials, you can access thousands of ebooks. Use the links below to access ebook collections. If you've already found an ebook in the Novanet catalogue, skip to the next section for help accessing the ebook.

ProQuest Ebook Central (now includes MyiLibrary) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of close to 366,000 electronic books, the majority scholarly in content, in all subject areas. Includes the Canadian Electronic Library Publishers Collection. Login required on and off campus.
EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Titles from a broad range of academic subject and topic areas

Directory of Open Access Books
A discovery service that points to Open Access books that can be found elsewhere. It enables you to search the description of the books and to download the books from the publisher's site.

Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Formerly the desLibris collection, contains 8,000+ English and French ebooks from 47 Canadian publishers including the major Canadian university and scholarly presses.
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of over 5,400 titles in the humanities and related social sciences. The collection includes monographs, special series, primary sources, and other works of lasting scholarly value.

Open Book Publishers
Open Book Publishers' books are published in hardback, paperback and ebook editions. They also publish free online editions of every title in PDF, HTML and XML formats that can be read via their website, downloaded, reused or embedded anywhere.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
Directory of Open Access Books is a joint service of OAPEN, OpenEdition, CNRS and Aix-Marseille Université
Open Humanities Press
OHP is an international community of scholars, editors and readers with a focus on critical and cultural theory. They have operated as a independent volunteer initiative since 2006, promoting open access scholarship in journals, books and exploring new forms of scholarly communication.
MIT Press
Established in 1962, the MIT Press is one of the largest and most distinguished university presses in the world and a leading publisher of books and journals at the intersection of science, technology, art, social science, and design. MIT Press books and journals are known for their intellectual daring, scholarly standards, interdisciplinary focus, and distinctive design.