Guides: Information Technology: eBooks, Theses & More

EBOOKS (subscription-based: you will be asked to login)

EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Titles from a broad range of academic subject and topic areas
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of close to 366,000 electronic books, the majority scholarly in content, in all subject areas. Includes the Canadian Electronic Library Publishers Collection. Login required on and off campus.
Canada Commons This link opens in a new window 8,123 English and French e-book titles from 47 Canadian publishers including the major Canadian university and scholarly presses.
Gale Reference Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Search reference book collections including Shakespearean Criticism; Children's Literature Review; Something About the Author; International Directory of Company Histories (2005-2009); Contemporary Authors & Contemporary Authors New Revision Series (2005-2006); Eighteenth-Century Collections Online with 184,000 titles.
Past Masters (CRKN - Intelex ) This link opens in a new window A collection of 117 full-text databases of the writings of leading scholars and creative writers of the past. Particularly strong for women's writings from the 18th century to the early 20th century.

Theses & Dissertations

Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new window
Full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations that were published since 1998.
MSVU e-Commons: MSVU Graduate Theses This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of graduate theses produced at MSVU since 2006. Includes theses from Education, Family Studies & Gerontology, Applied Human Nutrition, Women and Gender studies, Child and Youth Study, and Public Relations.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
An index providing access to over 1 million full-text open access graduate theses and dissertations from institutions in Canada, United States, and all over the world.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations. For students and researchers, the Union Catalog makes individual collections of NDLTD member institutions and consortia appear as one seamless digital library of ETDs.
EThOS ( Electronic Theses Online Service) This link opens in a new window
The aim of the Electronic Theses Online Service (EThOS) is to maximise the availability and visibility of UK doctoral theses via a single web interface. It does this by providing both high quality metadata and, where possible, access to the full text either by downloading a PDF directly from EThOS or by following a link to the institutional repository.

Subject Databases
Many of our subject databases (including ERIC, PsycInfo, Ageline, MLA, SocIndex, Historical Abstracts/America: History & Life, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, Gender Studies) provide indexing of select dissertations.

Degree-granting institution
Check the home institution for an online repository/archive. More and more theses and dissertations are being made available in open access format.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An academic search engine

Online IT dictionaries

Dictionary of Algorithms and Data Structures
Provides definitions of algorithms, algorithmic techniques, data structures, archetypal problems, etc.
Tom Sheldon's Linktionary
This website acts both as a dictionary and a directory of web links for research on networks.
Ritter's Crypto Glossary and Dictionary of Technical Cryptography
Terry Ritter shares his vast knowledge of cryptography.
NetLingo
A more broad-based dictionary covering concepts relevant to business, technology and communication.
more...less...
Link can be slow.
Webopedia
Enter a word for a definition...
FOLDOC
Free On-Line Dictionary of Computing.