Guides: Cultural Studies: Books, Theses & More

E-books and other online collections

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Communication and Critical Cultural Studies by Dana Cloud (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780190459611
Publication Date: 2019
A compendium of articles by prominent communication, rhetorical, and cultural studies scholars about topics of interest to scholars and critics of popular and political culture.

EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Titles from a broad range of academic subject and topic areas
Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Formerly the desLibris collection, contains 8,000+ English and French ebooks from 47 Canadian publishers including the major Canadian university and scholarly presses.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO (CRKN - Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains digitized texts of over 183,000 titles published during the 18th Century.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
An international collection of musical and aural traditions.
Theatre in Video (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Video performances of plays and video documentaries from Shakespeare to the present.

Collections of Publications

American Film Scripts Online (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
This edition of American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) contains 497 scripts by 605 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts.
Black Drama (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photos.
Black Thought and Culture (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture contains 795 sources with 434 authors which includes the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
This edition of British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Defining Gender 1450-1910 This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary source documents on gender relations in England from the late Middle Ages to the early twentieth century.
Europeana This link opens in a new window
Europe's multilingual library of 4.6 digitized books, maps, film clips, and newspapers, the majority in the public domain. French materials are well represented.

MSVU Art Gallery
The Art Gallery reflects the University’s educational aims by developing a significant part of its activities to the representation of women as cultural subjects and producers.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
North American Indian Thought and Culture (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Primary sources by and about the native peoples of North America - autobiography, speeches, diaries, letters. Formerly called North American Indian Biographical Database.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (CRKN - Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Oral History Online (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Oral History Online provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,500 collections of Oral History in English from around the world.
Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000 (CRKN - Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 currently includes 65 document projects with 1,800 documents, and more than 23,000 pages of additional full-text documents. It includes as well book, film and website reviews and teaching tools.

Theses & Dissertations

Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new window
Full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations that were published since 1998.
MSVU e-Commons: MSVU Graduate Theses This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of graduate theses produced at MSVU since 2006. Includes theses from Education, Family Studies & Gerontology, Applied Human Nutrition, Women and Gender studies, Child and Youth Study, and Public Relations.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
An index providing access to over 1 million full-text open access graduate theses and dissertations from institutions in Canada, United States, and all over the world.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations. For students and researchers, the Union Catalog makes individual collections of NDLTD member institutions and consortia appear as one seamless digital library of ETDs.

Subject Databases
Many of our subject databases (including ERIC, PsycInfo, Ageline, MLA, SocIndex, Historical Abstracts/America: History & Life, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, Gender Studies) provide indexing of select dissertations.

Degree-granting institution
Check the home institution for an online repository/archive. More and more theses and dissertations are being made available in open access format.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An academic search engine