Guides: Family Studies: Theses & Online Collections

Tests & measurements

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. It contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership, and provides a bibliography to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print. Actual tests are not provided.

Canadian Social Trends
maintained by the Government of Canada's Depository Services Program this resource contains articles written by Statistics Canada researchers on social situations in Canada.
Public Health Agency of Canada
Institute for Research on Public Policy

Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new window
Full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations that were published since 1998.
MSVU e-Commons: MSVU Graduate Theses This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of graduate theses produced at MSVU since 2006. Includes theses from Education, Family Studies & Gerontology, Applied Human Nutrition, Women and Gender studies, Child and Youth Study, and Public Relations.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
An index providing access to over 1 million full-text open access graduate theses and dissertations from institutions in Canada, United States, and all over the world.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations. For students and researchers, the Union Catalog makes individual collections of NDLTD member institutions and consortia appear as one seamless digital library of ETDs.

Subject Databases
Many of our subject databases (including ERIC, PsycInfo, Ageline, MLA, SocIndex, Historical Abstracts/America: History & Life, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, Gender Studies) provide indexing of select dissertations.

Degree-granting institution
Check the home institution for an online repository/archive. More and more theses and dissertations are being made available in open access format.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language and the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words.