Open Educational Resources
Open educational resources (OER) are free, openly licensed educational resources, including textbooks, videos, tutorials, and more. Users of OER are permitted to use, adapt, and redistribute the material with minimal restrictions based on Creative Commons licensing. See below for specific examples of OERs suitable for Religious Studies.
Search for OER
There are many OER repositories to search from; a curated list of the most prominent databases is below.
BC Campus Open Textbook Library
Lists open textbooks in a number of subject areas. It also includes a directory of other open textbook sites and a guide to using open textbooks
Catalogue of H5P Content
A database of interactive tutorials, quizzes, timelines, and simulations that can be downloaded and integrated into Moodle.
cCampusOntario Open Textbook Library
This repository offers a curated collection of textbooks, many of which have been reviewed and vetted by educators across Canada.
Directory of Open Access Books
A discovery service that points to Open Access books that can be found elsewhere. It enables you to search the description of the books and to download the books from the publisher's site.
Knowledge Unlatched makes scholarly content freely available to everyone by transitioning monographs and journals in a wide variety of disciplines from paywalled to Open Access content.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
George Mason University Libraries, in conjunction with Deep Web Technologies, has created an OER Metafinder that searches across several open repositories
A digital public library and collaboration platform that contains high-quality OERs for all levels of education.
Open Access for European Networks (OAPEN)
The OAPEN Library hosts and disseminates OA peer-reviewed academic books mainly in the areas of the humanities and social sciences.
Open Book Publishers
A not-for-profit Social Enterprise run by academics, Open Book Publishers is the largest independent open access academic publisher of monographs in the UK.
Educational materials organized in small modules and freely available to be customized as you wish. An initiative of Rice University.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. Supported by the Open Textbook Network.
Global Citizenship, Cultural Citizenship and World Religions in Religion Education
Overview: An examination of the reasons for studying religion and religions, and the necessity for educator, student, administrative, or parental involvement in the process of teaching and learning about religious diversity. In this paper, Chidester tests one possible answer to these questions - namely citizenship - and suggests that the study of religion, religions, and religious diversity, can usefully be brought into conversation with recent research on new formations of citizenship.
Nations under God: The Geopolitics of Faith in the Twenty-First Century
This edited collection presents a balanced analysis of the multifaceted roles taken on by religions, and religious actors, in global politics. The volume brings together over thirty leading scholars from a variety of disciplines who utilise case studies, empirical investigations, and theoretical examinations to move beyond the simplistic narratives and overly impassioned polemics which swamp the discourse on the subject.
Edited by: Luke M. Herrington, Alasdair McKay & Jeffrey Haynes
The Originals: Classic Readings in Western Philosophy
It is important for students not only to get an appreciation and understanding of philosophy but also to be exposed to the very words and ideas of those who have shaped our thinking over the centuries. Accordingly, the title of this collection hints at the facts that these readings are from the original sources and that these philosophers were the originators of many of the issues we still discuss today. Major areas of philosophy covered here are: Ethics, Epistemology, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Religion, Ethics, Socio-Political Philosophy, and finally, Aesthetics.
Read more about Six Ways of Being Religious Six Ways of Being Religious
The book proposes the hypothesis that six generic ways of being religious may be found in any large-scale religious tradition such as Christianity or Buddhism or Islam or Hinduism: sacred rite, right action, devotion, shamanic mediation, mystical quest, and reasoned inquiry. These are recurrent ways in which, socially and individually, devout members of these traditions take up and appropriate their stories and symbols in order to draw near to, and come into right relationship with, what the traditions attest to be the ultimate reality.
Author: Dale Cannon
The Sacred and the Sovereign
This collection features seven articles which tackle the subject of religion and its resurgence in international politics from diverse approaches.
Edited by: Özgür Taşkaya
Learning module on world religions and their effects on business negotiations.
OER Quick Links
Creative Commons Image Search
Allows you to search a variety of Creative Commons collections including Flickr, Wikimedia Commons, and Open Clip Art Library.
Creative Commons Licenses
An overview of various Creative Commons licenses available.
OER created at the Mount
Open Educational Resources created by Mount faculty.
This toolkit provides information and tools to help faculty to understand, engage with, and sustain OER in their work and practice.
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License.