Some relatively good news for ERIC: the Institute of Education Sciences has renewed the contract to continue access to ERIC. The content reductions of new materials announced in March will go forward, but the site and its archives will remain online. There will be no help desk services but the Acting Director of IES has, at this time, committed to not removing any existing material. For updates directly from ERIC, you can follow them @IESResearch (no platform specified in the communication).
Funding for ERIC has been cut off completely by the US Department of Government Efficiency and its curator has been placed on administrative leave. The free interface may continue to be available, but no new content has been added since March 2025, and the site may disappear soon. I am working to determine if existing content in the EBSCO hosted version of ERIC is stable.
An report on the current situation and an interview with the former overseer of ERIC is here: https://hechingerreport.org/proof-points-eric-under-threat/
If you have any questions please contact Nicole.Slipp@msvu.ca
EBSCO, the company that provides most of our library research databases, has launched a new user interface (UI). Our databases will be migrated to this new UI on April 23, 2025.
If you’re curious about how the new interface will look, you can watch a recorded “Get to Know the new UI” sessions from EBSCO here: https://connect.ebsco.com/s/recordings?vtui__catalogId=a1a1H00000FjTEEQA3&vtui__mediaId=a1hUT000000KRgnYAG
‼️ If you use a personal profile in an EBSCO database (e.g. Child Development & Adolescent Studies, MathSciNet, SocINDEX, or APA PsycINFO) to save search results or to create search alerts in custom folders, you will need to prepare these items for migration to the new “My Dashboard” area.
EBSCO has provided a step-by-step guide for preparing your profile for migration; please find it below this post or in the email sent to all faculty.
If you need assistance with your profile migration, contact library@msvu.ca
Accessing saved items and searches should still be possible after the migration date, but will require assistance from EBSCO's technical support team. After July 2025, the old profiles will no longer be accessible and any saved searches and/or folders of saved items will not be retrievable.
Don’t leave your research history up to chance: prepare your profiles today!
The Collections team has begun a deselection process in the P 000-999 section of our physical collection. This range of the P Class includes books on language theory and linguistics (e.g. semiotics, etymology, speech, non-verbal communication) and communications (e.g. mass media, discourse analysis). Good candidates for replacement with electronic texts have been identified and purchased.
The books considered for deselection are initially identified through usage and other statistics and reviewed by the Collections Librarian. No books that have circulated (i.e. been checked out) in the last 5 years are being deselected.
* If books in these subject areas relate to your research and you would like to offer feedback on the titles being considered for deselection, please contact Collections Librarian Nicole Slipp (Nicole.Slipp@msvu.ca) for a copy of the list.
Generative AI and education : digital pedagogies, teaching innovation and learning design by 