Guides: Gerontology: Articles & Journals

Frequently used article databases

CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus provides coverage for thousands of journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including nutrition. It covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and dozens of allied health disciplines.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracting for over 4,000 full-text journal articles in a wide range of disciplines.
Ageline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
300 journals on gerontology indexed/abstracted; links to full-text in Academic Search Premier.
SocINDEX (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX offers comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study. There are 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,390 "selective" coverage journals; links to full-text in Academic Search Premier.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database provides comprehensive coverage of the research literature in the field of education. It includes journal articles as well as books, reports, and other documents.
APA PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
2000 international psychology journals, books, chapters, dissertations indexed/abstracted, links to full-text in ASP & PsychArticles. It is possible to limit searches by age groups e.g. Aged (65 years & older)
APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text from over 100 APA, CPA and associated journals with most coverage beginning in 1985. All titles also indexed in PsycINFO with links to full-text.

Multidisciplinary databases relevant to Gerontology

Cambridge University Press Journals (CRKN) This link opens in a new window
A collection of 380 electronic journals covering all subject areas.
CBCA Complete (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,680 titles, CBCA Complete is ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and education as produced in Canada. Includes 640 full-text periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian). Updated daily with full-text content (1985 to present) and bibliographic content (1971 to present).
EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is a company that provides access to a collection of databases, including Ageline, SocIndex, ERIC, etc. You may select one or more database you wish to include in your search.
Gender Studies Database (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of journals indexed/abstracted related to women’s studies, sexual diversity, men’s studies; links to full-text in ASP
Indigenous Peoples: North America (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This archive of primary sources includes monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections.
JSTOR (CRKN) This link opens in a new window
A collection of 1,083 of the the most important academic journals in the Arts & Sciences, the Biological Sciences, and the Life Sciences. In most instances the volume run is complete back to the first issue. An important source of full-text for older articles and book reviews.
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
index for world literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. At present there is a limited full-text component.
Medline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A sub-set of PubMed; 4,600 biomedical journals indexed/abstracted, with links to full-text in Academic Search Premier.
Oxford University Press Journals (CRKN) This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Over 15 million citations from MEDLINE and the biomedical and life sciences literature dating back to the 1950's. PubMed includes links to some sites providing full text.
In May 2020 PubMed changed its interface. The Welch Medical Library video reviews the changes and provides a great introduction to searching the database.
Science Direct (CRKN - Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
A collection of 2,395 full-text multi-disciplinary journals.
Taylor & Francis: Social Sciences and Humanities Collection (CRKN) This link opens in a new window
A collection of articles from 1,191 electronic journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Wiley Online Library (CRKN) This link opens in a new window
A collection of 1,217 full-text multi-disciplinary journals.

Where's the full text?

If you are unsure whether an article is available in full text or not, please click on the 'Check for full text...' link closest to the citation to check if the full text is available at MSVU. The 'Check for full text...' link will check to see if the article is available in another database, or to see if the library has a copy of the article in print. If the article is not available at MSVU please look at our document delivery options.

Gerontology

Librarian

Novanet LiveHelp

Frequently used article databases

Multidisciplinary databases relevant to Gerontology

Where's the full text?