Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Awards

The Mount Saint Vincent University Library promotes two annual awards. These awards are available to undergraduate students who demonstrate outstanding library research skills in using information and resources when completing a research assignment at th

Welcome to the Library Awards

The Library adjudicates two annual student awards for excellence in library research:

  • MSVU Introduction to Library Research Award
    • sponsored by the MSVU Library & Archives
  • Sister Francis de Sales Endowed Award
    • sponsored by the Mount Saint Vincent Alumnae Association

Each award comes with a cash prize of $360 and winners are officially announced at the annual Academic Awards event in April. The deadline this year is March 14, 2022.

These awards are available to undergraduate students who demonstrate outstanding research skills in using information and resources located in, or accessible from, the Mount Library, when completing a research assignment for course credit at Mount Saint Vincent University.

Eligibility

  • Open to all undergraduate students at Mount Saint Vincent University
  • A single assignment is eligible for one award in the following two categories:
    • MSVU Introduction to Library Research Award: students with 15 units of credit or less from ANY institution
    • Sister Francis de Sales Endowed Award: students with more than 10 units of credit
  • Assignment must have been submitted for course credit at Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Assignment must have been submitted in the 12 month period proceeding the annual March 14th deadline
  • Honours theses/projects are not eligible
  • All supporting documentation must be included for consideration

About the Library Awards

These awards celebrate undergraduate students who demonstrate outstanding research skills using resources located in, or accessible from, the MSVU Library when completing a research assignment for course credit during the 12-month period preceding the deadline.

MSVU Introduction to Library Research Award

The Mount Saint Vincent University Introduction to Library Research Award is awarded annually to a novice researcher, i.e. an undergraduate student at MSVU who has completed no more than 15 units or less at MSVU (or any other post-secondary institution) and demonstrates outstanding research skills using information and resources located in, or accessible from, the MSVU Library when completing a research paper for credit. Annotated bibliographies are eligible for this award.

Sister Francis de Sales Endowed Award

The Sister Francis de Sales Endowed Award is awarded annually by the Mount Saint Vincent Alumnae Association in memory of Sister Francis de Sales, who served as Head Librarian for 25 years, was instrumental in rebuilding the Mount Library after the fire of 1951, and in the establishment of the MacDonald Rare Book Room.

The Sister Francis de Sales Endowed Award is awarded to a senior undergraduate student (has completed more than 10 units) who demonstrates outstanding research skills in using information sources available from the MSVU Library when completing a research paper for course credit.

Background & Judging Criteria

The adjudication committee consists of librarians and library staff members. The committee may seek advice from the teaching faculty related to the paper under consideration. The research assignments will be judged according to the following criteria:

  • Research Methodology/Process outlined in the research log: an evaluation based on the range of sources used (breadth, depth and appropriateness of print and/or electronic indexes, abstracts, and bibliographies), evidence of consultation with professional reference staff in the Library or instructors, evidence of learning the research process, efficiency of research.
  • Quality of Paper: grammar, spelling, punctuation, and clear, accurate, consistent use of citation (e.g., MLA, Chicago, APA).
  • Content: synthesis of the topic, organization and flow, the appropriate and thorough use of research material integrated throughout the assignment, and evidence that the paper met the requirements set by the course instructor.

Note that the committee is not remarking an assignment, but the quality of library research must be deemed sufficiently high by the committee for applications to be considered. The committee reserves the right not to offer the award in any given year. The decision of the panel is final. 

Research Log Guidelines

The research log documents your research process and the resources you used while conducting your research. Please note: not all subcategories need to be completed however they must include some library research examples. The cover page of the research log must include: your name, student id number, title of the paper, course, Library Award Category (Category A or B).

  1. Search Strategies

When listing the search strategies you used to find information for your assignment, list the what tools or techniques you used while doing your research and indicate things such as choosing a database, deciding on search terms, search terms, and/or filters you used. 

    1. Journal Databases, Indexes, Search Engines
    2. Keywords and Search Terms
    3. Subject Headings /Descriptors (e.g. thesaurus)
    4. Search Strings in how you found information (e.g. using Boolean operators such as and, or, not)
    5. Limits / Filters e.g. current 5 years, peer-reviewed, etc.
  1. Research and Reference Materials

Provide a list of materials used during your library research process according to the type of material. Indicate whether the resource was online or print.

    1. Background Materials (specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.)
    2. Books/eBooks
    3. Primary Sources
    4. Bibliographies, indexes, journal databases, etc. 
    5. Government documents or data/statistics
    6. Websites
    7. Audio visual materials such as videos, films, etc. 
    8. Other
  1. Consultations, Research Appointments, Reference

Describe any consultations, research appointments, or help you received from librarians, instructors, and/or other specialists regarding your research.

  1. Personal Journal

Reflect on your research process and its impact on your work.

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License. You may copy the guide as long as credit is included. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials. Please be aware that many of our guides contain links to subscription-based services for which access is restricted, and collections of resources that may have additional rights reserved. Please consult the licenses and terms of use for each resource.