Guides: MLA Citation Style: MLA 9th ed. Style

MLA Handbook

MLA Handbook 9th edition

The MLA Handbook provides detailed guidelines for using MLA style. This style is common in the humanities (including English).

Copies of the MLA Handbook are available online, or for loan from the Library.
LB2369 M52 2021

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Reference Collection LB 2369 M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-04-06

MLA Citation Examples
Use the navigation bar on the left of the page (below the image of the MLA Handbook) to choose the citation example you wish to view.
MLA 9 Video Demonstrations
Use the navigation bar on the right of the page to chose which element you wish to see demonstrated.
MLA 9 Sample Papers
A collection of six essays to illustrate various points of MLA style.

Additional MLA Resources

Introduction to the 9th MLA Citation Style tutorial

Note: The slideshow below may be enlarged to full screen by clicking on the three dots (the 'Options' menu) and selecting 'Enter Full Screen'.

Additional information on MLA style may be found at these websites:

MLA Citation Examples
From the University of Maryland libraries.
MLA Guide to Digital Literacy
The MLA Guide to Digital Literacy helps students understand why digital literacy is a critically important skill and provides hands-on, structured activities to give students strategies for evaluating the credibility of sources, detecting fake news, understanding bias, and more.
MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature
Written by two experienced librarians, the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature walks students through the process of research in literary studies, introducing the resources available through college and university libraries and explaining how to access the ones a student needs.
Modern Language Association
ZoteroBib
Generate a citation from a doi or website. You can also fill in a form and generate a citation. Copy and paste it into your paper.

Need More Help?

For additional assistance with citation styles, consult your professor or the research help service at the Mount Library.

You can reach the Library by email: library@msvu.ca. Please note: The Library will help you as much as possible but they may also refer you back to your professor.

MLA Research Strategies

MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, 2nd Ed.
The purpose of this book is to offer guidance to undergraduate students working on research assignments for their classes on literature written in English. We describe key resources and offer tips on selecting the right databases for a research project, using these and other tools effectively to obtain various types of information, analyzing and evaluating the resources retrieved from searching, and managing and organizing your citations.
MLA Guide to Digital Literacy, 2nd Ed.