Primary Sources

FamilySearch is a genealogy organization operated by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. It is the largest genealogy organization in the world. FamilySearch maintains a collection of records, resources, and services designed to help people learn more about their family history. FamilySearch gathers, preserves, and shares genealogical records worldwide. It offers free access to its resources and service online and FamilySearch offers personal assistance at its family history centers.

A Directory of Free Census Records

Free collaborative site for genealogist.

A comprehensive list of genealogical resources online.

Includes pre- and post-Confederation censuses in the public domain for the area that is now Canada.

Many Library and Archives Canada records have been indexed by name.You can access those genealogy databases free on our website in Ancestors Search. Each database has its own search screen and a main page that explains about the records and how to access them. Some of the databases include links to digitized images.

Queen's University has posted the historical tables for the Canadian Censuses.

A comprehensive list of genealogical resources online.

Chronicles the people, places, and events that make up Nova Scotia's history through original records, photographs, maps, and more.

The genealogy resource page of the Nova Scotia Archives, including a genealogy guide, links and resources.

Search for birth, marriage and death records held by Nova Scotia Vital Statistics that are in the public domain.

the Halifax Public Libraries’ local history and genealogy resources page. Includes Virtual Archives, Tours, Genealogy Databases, Collections, and Local Heritage Resources to discover your unique Nova Scotia heritage.

A comprehensive list of genealogical resources online.

A comprehensive list of genealogical resources online.