Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed., available from MSVU Library Reference collection, ask for access at front desk.
DSM-5® Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders, 5th ed., available in print. Shelf location : RC 455.2 C4 D536 2013
DSM-5® Guidebook The Essential Companion to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th ed., available online.
Dictionary of Testing, Assessment, and Treatment, 2007, available online and in print. Shelf location : BF 176 S78 2007
Cognitive Psychology by
Rigorously researched and accessibly written, Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook is widely regarded as the leading undergraduate textbook in the field. The book is clearly organised, and offers comprehensive coverage of all the key areas of cognitive psychology. With a strong focus on considering human cognition in context, the book has been designed to help students develop a thorough understanding of the fundamentals of cognitive psychology, providing them with detailed knowledge of the very latest advances in the field. New to this edition: Thoroughly revised throughout to include the latest research and developments in the field Extended coverage of cognitive neuroscience Additional content on computational cognitive science New and updated case studies demonstrating real life applications of cognitive psychology Fully updated companion website Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook will be essential reading for all undergraduate students of psychology. Those taking courses in computer science, education, linguistics, physiology, and medicine will also find it an invaluable resource.
Essentials of Assessment Report Writing by
The bestselling guide to reporting writing, updated and reworked for today's practice Essentials of Assessment Report Writing offers effective solutions to the creation of reader-friendly, yet targeted, psychological, and educational assessment reports. Parents, clinicians, clients, and other readers need more than test-by-test descriptions--they need an accessible analysis of the entire situation to determine their next steps. This book provides clear guidance for busy practitioners seeking ways to improve their report writing skills. With a focus on current practice, this new second edition covers DSM-5 updates and the latest assessment instruments including the WJ IV, WISC-V, WAIS-IV, KTEA-3, and the CAS2. New discussion includes advice on tailoring the report to the audience, and annotated case reports provide illustrative models of effective report styles, interpretation, and analysis. Key concepts are highlighted for quick reference throughout, and end-of-chapter questions help reinforce understanding. Reporting styles vary widely within the field, in both content and style; there is no definitive "standard," but many reports fail to reflect best practices and therefore prove less than useful to the reader. This book provides expert guidance throughout the reporting process to help practitioners provide high-quality, accessible reports. Integrate assessment results to provide a person-centered report Identify and navigate critical decision points in the interpretive process Write efficiently yet effectively while enhancing the reader's experience Provide an accurate, informative, and readable assessment report Incorporate practical recommendations to address the referral concerns Expertly-conducted assessments should culminate with a carefully constructed analysis that provides direction via clear communication. Because this report will be used to inform treatment, intervention, and ultimately, the client's quality of life--it is critical that it provides clear, informative guidance in a way that readers can understand. Essentials of Assessment Report Writing provides comprehensive guidelines for navigating through the report writing process.
Introduction to Research Methods in Psychology by
Introduction to Research Methods in Psychology, 4th edition is an essential introduction to research methods in psychology. With comprehensive coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods as well as the ethical and legal realities of carrying out research, this is the ideal guide for students just beginning and those moving on to more advanced projects.
The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Psychology by
The exponential growth of clinical psychology since the late 1960s can be measured in part by the extensive-perhaps exhaustive-literature on the subject. This proliferation of writing has continued into the new century, and the field has come to be defined as much by its many topics as its many voices.The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Psychology synthesizes these decades of literature in one extraordinary volume. Comprising chapters from the foremost scholars in clinical psychology, the handbook provides even and authoritative coverage of the research, practice, and policy factors that combine to form today's clinical psychology landscape.In addition to core sections on topics such as training, assessment, diagnosis, and intervention, the handbook includes valuable chapters devoted to new and emerging issues in the clinical field, including heath care reforms, cultural factors, and technological innovations and challenges. Each chapter offers a review of the most pertinent literature, outlining current issues and identifying possibilities for future research.Featuring two chapters by Editor David H. Barlow -- one on changes during his own 40-year odyssey in the field, the other projecting ten themes for the future of clinical psychology -- The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Psychology is a landmark publication that is sure to serve as the field's benchmark reference publication for years to come. It is an essential resource for students, clinicians, and researchers across the ever-growing clinical psychology community.
Psychology Research Methods by
Psychology Research Methods: A Writing Intensive Approach provides instruction in critical concepts and processes in behavioral science research methods and skills in formulating and writing research papers. The book creates an experiential approach to learning, with chapters organized around the task of writing a complete APA-style research paper. The chapters consist of instructional text, excerpts from published research articles, and learning activities. The reading activities help students develop skills in reading scientific research, evaluating and analyzing scientific information, and assembling evidence to make a scientific argument. The writing activities help students to break down the process of writing a research paper into manageable and meaningful components. As students complete the chapter activities, they assemble their research paper. The book teaches research methods in a clinical context, inspired by the National Institute of Health''s Science of Behavior Change Program. Students acquire knowledge about research methods as they read research articles about behavioral health disorders, including studies about their prevalence, causes, and treatment. Teaching research methods with a clinical focus helps students appreciate the value of psychological research. Psychology Research Methods: A Writing Intensive Approach provides instruction in critical concepts and processes in behavioral science research methods and skills in formulating and writing research papers. The book creates an experiential approach to learning, with chapters organized around the task of writing a complete APA-style research paper. The chapters consist of instructional text, excerpts from published research articles, and learning activities. The reading activities help students develop skills in reading scientific research, evaluating and analyzing scientific information, and assembling evidence to make a scientific argument. The writing activities help students to break down the process of writing a research paper into manageable and meaningful components. As students complete the chapter activities, they assemble their research paper. The book teaches research methods in a clinical context, inspired by the National Institute of Health''s Science of Behavior Change Program. Students acquire knowledge about research methods as they read research articles about behavioral health disorders, including studies about their prevalence, causes, and treatment. Teaching research methods with a clinical focus helps students appreciate the value of psychological research. Psychology Research Methods: A Writing Intensive Approach provides instruction in critical concepts and processes in behavioral science research methods and skills in formulating and writing research papers. The book creates an experiential approach to learning, with chapters organized around the task of writing a complete APA-style research paper. The chapters consist of instructional text, excerpts from published research articles, and learning activities. The reading activities help students develop skills in reading scientific research, evaluating and analyzing scientific information, and assembling evidence to make a scientific argument. The writing activities help students to break down the process of writing a research paper into manageable and meaningful components. As students complete the chapter activities, they assemble their research paper. The book teaches research methods in a clinical context, inspired by the National Institute of Health''s Science of Behavior Change Program. Students acquire knowledge about research methods as they read research articles about behavioral health disorders, including studies about their prevalence, causes, and treatment. Teaching research methods with a clinical focus helps students appreciate the value of psychological research.
Writing Your Psychology Research Paper by
Many psychology students dislike writing a research paper, their aversion driven by anxiety over various aspects of the process. This primer for undergraduates explains how to write a clear, compelling, well-organized research paper. From picking a promising topic, to finding and digesting the pertinent literature, to developing a thesis, to outlining and presenting ideas, to editing for clarity and concision - each step is broken down and illustrated with examples. In addition, a bonus chapter discusses how to combat procrastination. Students learn that the best writing is done in chunks over long periods of time, and that writing is a skill that improves with practice. By following the advice in this book, any student can not only get through their dreaded writing assignment, but become a more proficient writer.
APA Dictionary of Psychology Ref. BF 31 A65 2007
Dictionary of Psychology Ref. BF 31 C65 2006
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science Ref. BF 31 E52 2001
Oxford Companion to the Mind 2nd ed. Ref. BF 31 O94 2004
Encyclopedia of Statistics in Behavioral Science Ref. BF 39 E498 2005
Feminism and Psychoanalysis: A Critical Dictionary Ref. BF 175.4 F45 F462 1992
MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences Ref. BF 311 M556 1999
Encyclopedia of Creativity Ref. BF 408 E53 1999
Encyclopedia of Human Emotions Ref. BF 531 E55 1999
A to Z of Counselling Theory and Practice 3rd ed. Ref. BF 637 C6 S768 2001
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreaming Ref. BF 1078 E68 1993
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology Ref. GN 502 S63 2006
Encyclopedia of School Psychology Ref. LB 1027.55 E523 2005
International Encyclopedia of Psychiatry Psychology Psychoanalysis and Neurology Ref. RC 334 I57 1977
Dictionary of Family Therapy Ref. RC 488.5 M5313 1995
Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders 2nd ed. Ref. RC 514 N63 2000
Encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears, and Anxieties Ref. RC 535 D63 1989
Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders Ref. RC 552 E18 C37 1994
Autism Encyclopedia Ref. RC 553 A88 A847 2005