Guides: Mathematics: Websites

Maths Teaching & Learning

Math Central This link opens in a new window
Math Central is an Internet service for mathematics students and teachers. This site is maintained by faculty and students in Mathematics and Statistics and Mathematics Education at the University of Regina in Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada.

NIST Digital Handbook of Mathematical Functions
Digital companion which updates the NIST Handbook of Mathematical Functions originally published in 1964

MathWorld This link opens in a new window
A nexus of mathematical information spanning all educational levels. It is considered clear, readable and reliable.

Cut-the-Knot
"A resource that would help learn, if not math itself, then, at least, ways to appreciate its beauty."
eMathHelp
Created by a math and computer science teacher. This website provide calculators for many math topics, math games, and problem-solving steps.

American Mathematical Society
The American Mathematical Society was founded in 1888 to further mathematical research and scholarship. The society’s Web site, e-MATH, is currently divided into eight audience areas for members, authors, employment, meetings, what’s new in mathematic
Mathematical Association of America (MAA)
The MAA bills itself as the world’s largest organization devoted to the interests of collegiate mathematics. The society serves 30,000 members, which include faculty, high school teachers, researchers and students.

Euler -Your Portal to Mathematics Publications
The European Libraries and Electronic Resources (EULER) Project in Mathematical Sciences provides a site for searching out mathematical resources, such as books, preprints, Web pages, abstracts, proceedings, serials, technical reports, and theses.
Yahoo! Science: Mathematics
With half a million sites divided into more than 25,000 categories, Yahoo! is both browsable and searchable—a good place to find links to relevant resources.
University of Washington Maths Research Library
Math libraries

Library Web sites often present a well thought-out group of resources to assist students, librarians, and others in the mathematical and science community.

MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive
Provides access to an integrated collection of more than 1,000 biographies and historical articles of a mathematical nature, with interactive birthplace maps and the famous curve applet
Biographies of Women Mathematicians
This site is an ongoing project by students in mathematics classes at Agnes Scott College.Designed to illustrate the numerous achievements of women in the field of mathematics, the site contains biographical essays or comments on prominent mathematicians.
Galileo Project - Catalog of the Scientific Community in the 16th and 17th Centuries
A collection of 631 detailed biographies on members of the scientific community during the 16th and 17th centuries, with vital facts about each individual and their contributions to science. 164 entries in the database claim mathematics as primary.
How Euler did it
How Euler Did It is an online MAA column, written by Ed Sandifer of Western Connecticut State University from 2003 to 2010. Each article examines a specific work or concept developed by Leonhard Euler, with the topics ranging from number theory to geography to fluid mechanics.