Help with Library Research

Citation Guides

MSVU Library's citation guides:

These examples are brief summaries of what you will find in the full citation manuals (available at the Library Reference Desk.) If you have questions about citation please consult with a librarian or your professor. Librarians may refer you to your professor.

Confirm with your professor which style you should be using.

Other citation styles:

RefWorks

RefWorks permits you to create a personal database and to manage all your research.  RefWorks allows you to import references from MSVU online article databases, and to enter the selected records into your RefWorks database.  When writing papers, you are able to choose from the various citation styles, and RefWorks will automatically format a bibliography based on the references in your database.

Legacy RefWorks

The Legacy RefWorks product will soon be retired. Please finish existing projects before migrating to the new version of ProQuest RefWorks. Do not create a new account with this obsolete version. It is a good practice to keep copies of your work, especially when migrating between software and service versions.

Zotero

Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is free citation software that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.

Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects and create bibliographies. There is a limit of 300mb of free storage for PDFs and other file attachments.

Getting started with Zotero
Other useful Zotero guides
MSVU Library Zotero tip:

To set up Zotero to access the Check for Full Text @ MSVU service:

  1. Choose Preferences from the Edit option on the Zotero toolbar.
  2. Select the Advanced tab.
  3. At the bottom of the preferences window, paste this url into the "Resolver" box:
    http://sfxna12.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/01nova_msvu/
  4. Click OK.

Once you've set this up, you can check for full text via the MSVU Library for any article in your Zotero Library. 

  1. Select the article in your Zotero 'library' or 'collection'
  2. Click the green arrow icon on the Zotero toolbar 
  3. Choose Library Lookup

 

ZoteroBib

Need a super fast way to generate a list of references?

ZoteroBib helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software, though if you need to reuse sources across multiple projects or build a shared research library, we recommend using Zotero instead.

Cite my paper/avoid plagiarism

LiveHelp


This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.
Creative Commons License

You may copy the guide for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included. Please be aware that the guide may contain links to subscription based services for which access is restricted. We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.