Guides: Child & Youth Study: Articles & Journals

Frequently Used Article Databases

Child Development & Adolescent Studies (EBSCO)
Hundreds of journals indexed/abstracted related to the growth and development of children, links to full-text in ASP
Education Research Complete (EBSCO)
Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.
Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies
This database contains over 750 exclusive, peer-reviewed articles that approach education and childhood from a comparative and global perspective.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
8000 journals indexed/abstracted (4600 full-text) in various disciplines
ERIC (EBSCO)
May 2025: ERIC is being updated on a limited database. If you have questions contact library@msvu.ca

The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database provides coverage of the research literature in the field of education. It includes journal articles as well as books, reports, and other documents.
APA PsycINFO (EBSCO)
2000 international psychology journals, books, chapters, dissertations indexed/abstracted, links to full-text in ASP & PsychArticles.

CINAHL Plus
CINAHL Plus provides coverage for thousands of journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including nutrition. It covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and dozens of allied health disciplines.
Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)
Hundreds of journals indexed/abstracted related to women’s studies, sexual diversity, men’s studies.
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO)
Formerly called LGBT Life. Index for world literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. At present there is a limited full-text component.
Medline (EBSCO)
4,600 biomedical journals indexed/abstracted.
SocINDEX (EBSCO)
Sociology research database. 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as 1,390 "selective" coverage journals

Citation indexes allow you to find articles which have cited other works. You can think of it as a reference list in reverse.

Google Scholar
The “Cited by” feature allows you to see details of later articles that have cited the article whose citation appear in the results list of a search Google Scholar provides citations (publication details) of books, conference proceedings, journal articles and theses from a variety of scholarly publishers, societies and organisations.