Indigenous Studies

CMM seeks "to proactively promote and assist Mi’kmaw communities’ initiatives toward self determination and enhancement of community."

All research studies that involve Mi’kmaw history and culture must follow protocols and standards as well as be reviewed by the Mi’kmaw Ethics Watch collective.

The Mi’kmaq Resource Centre, part of Unama’ki College, Cape Breton University, is a repository of documents and a dedicated space for Aboriginal research at CBU.

The mission of the Mi’kmaw Native Friendship Centre is to provide structured, social-based programming for Urban Aboriginal People while serving as a focal point for the urban aboriginal community to gather for a variety of community functions and events.

The Micmac News (1965-1991) is an important example of Mi’kmaw print culture; it was first developed by Roy Gould in Membertou in 1965 and later published until 1991 by the Union of Nova Scotia Indians and the Native Communications Society of Nova Scotia, respectively. This invaluable research tool covers historical and contemporary issues and events, including Aboriginal rights cases, social and labour history, material and intangible culture, and celebrations of Mi’kmaw life.

This is the website for the planning for, and future of, the Mi’kmawey Debert Cultural Centre.

From the Provincial Office of Aboriginal Affairs

Celebrate 13,000 years of Mi’kmaw presence within Mi’kma’ki, the place of the Mi’kmaq, and learn more about this ancient history.

"Atlantic Policy Congress (APC) of First Nations Chiefs Secretariat, was federally incorporated in 1995 and is a policy research and advocacy Sectretariat for 37 Mi’kmaq, Maliseet, Passamaquoddy and Innu Chiefs, Nations and Communities."

"The self-governing authority for the large community of Mi'kmaq/Aboriginal peoples residing off-reserve in Nova Scotia throughout traditional Mi'kmaq territory."

Facebook Page. NSNWA was formed in 1972 to address the social, political, emotional, health concerns and aspirations of Mi'kmaq Women.

Independent Aboriginal news in Atlantic Canada.

Brief content summaries. Subscribers can read full issues of the Mi’kmaq Maliseet Nations News online. The Library also has a print subscription of the news located in the Current Periodicals section on the upper level of the Library / EMF Learning Commons.

Quarterly newsletter of the Native Council of Nova Scotia

A digital repository committed to the digitization and preservation of, and access to, Canadian heritage content.

This guide provides broad coverage of the Native American and Indigenous archival collections at the Library of the American Philosophical Society. These materials date from 1553 to 2017 and include manuscript, audio, and visual materials relating to Indigenous peoples throughout the Americas.

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) acquires, preserves, and provides access to published and archival heritage material that represents First Nations, Inuit and Métis Nation experiences and contributions to Canada. This includes text, photographs, maps, and audio-visual material.

View thousands of Métis historical documents, genealogical information, Hudson's Bay Company records, Church missionary records, and personal Métis accounts.

A growing online archive dedicated to the history of residential schools and reconciliation.

This non-profit organization creates workshops and forums using knowledge and research to educate Aboriginal peoples on self governance. This resource is useful because it has links to research on Aboriginal law unique to the site and difficult to find elsewhere.

A peaceful protest movement rallying the Canadian government to acknowledge and honor indigenous sovereignty and to protect Canada's environment.

Research center based at the University of Saskatchewan which compiles research on Aboriginal law.

A campaign by Amnesty International Canada to seek justice for the missing and murdered Indigenous women of Canada.

Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK) is the national Inuit organization in Canada, representing four Inuit regions – Nunatsiavut (Labrador), Nunavik (northern Quebec), Nunavut, and the Inuvialuit Settlement Region in the Northwest Territories.

The national representative of the Métis Nation in Canada.

The national voice of Inuit women.

"Hundreds of online maps about Canada's environment, society, economy and history."

This map shows Indian treaties that were negotiated between 1725 and 1930. From the GeoGratis service of Natural Resources Canada.

Find a map or geospatial dataset about Indigenous communities or the North. The maps are available as web-based interactive maps or static maps that can be downloaded and printed.