Guides: Environmental Studies: E-Books, Theses & More

E-books and other online collections

Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Formerly the desLibris collection, contains 8,000+ English and French ebooks from 47 Canadian publishers including the major Canadian university and scholarly presses.
EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Titles from a broad range of academic subject and topic areas
National Academies Press This link opens in a new window
The NAP publishes over 200 books a year on a wide range of scientific topics as open access PDF or html files.

EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An academic search engine
MSVU e-Commons: MSVU Graduate Theses This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of graduate theses produced at MSVU since 2006. Includes theses from Education, Family Studies & Gerontology, Applied Human Nutrition, Women and Gender studies, Child and Youth Study, and Public Relations.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations. For students and researchers, the Union Catalog makes individual collections of NDLTD member institutions and consortia appear as one seamless digital library of ETDs.
Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new window
Full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations that were published since 1998.

Degree-granting institution
Check the home institution for an online repository/archive. More and more theses and dissertations are being made available in open access format.
Subject Databases
Many of our subject databases (including ERIC, PsycInfo, Ageline, MLA, SocIndex, Historical Abstracts/America: History & Life, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, Gender Studies) provide indexing of select dissertations.

Encyclopedia of Earth
Contains peer-reviewed articles written by scholars, professionals, educators and experts “…about the earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.” Articles are written in non-technical language.
Glossary of Environmental Terms
Definitions of environmental terms by the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Environmental Science
Peer-reviewed digital encyclopedia with a mix of open-access and restricted content on environmental science.